Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Leaders vie to show strength

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  23 March 2016 12:00 AM GMT

Phase II: Last day of filing nomition


GUWAHATI, March 22: Several Congress heavyweights filed nomition papers for the upcoming assembly elections on the last day of filing nomition for the second phase on Tuesday.

Agriculture minister and Congress strongman Rakibul Hussain filed his papers on Tuesday for Samaguri LAC at the gaon DC office. Hussain was accompanied by thousands of supporters.

Speaking to the media before filing his papers, Hussain said, “Our fight is against commul forces. People of the State have witnessed the change that took place in the last 15 years under the leadership of Tarun Gogoi. They don’t want the days before 2001 to return. Assam has witnessed 15 years of development under Tarun Gogoi and 2 years of duping by the rendra Modi-led BJP government at Centre. The people are with us.”

Former Education minister Gautam Bora for Batadraba LAC and Durlav Chamua for gaon LAC also filed nomition in gaon today.

Meanwhile in Guwahati, Congress candidate for East Guwahati LAC Bobbeeta Sarma filed her nomition on Tuesday. Speaking to the media, she said, “I have been with the people of East Guwahati since a long time and I’m sure people will come out to support me.” It may be mentioned that sitting Congress MLA Capt Robin Bordoloi was denied party candidature this time.

Congress candidate for West Guwahati LAC Juri Sarma Bordoloi who has been given candidature in place of sitting MLA Hemanta Talukdar filed her nomition today. However, Talukdar too filed nomition with thousands of supporters today as an Independent candidate, literally throwing down an open challenge to the State Congress leadership.

Congress leader Niren Deka, who will take on BJP leader Himanta Biswa Sarma at Jalukbari too filed his nomition today with large numbers of supporters in tow.

Other heavyweights who filed their nomitions from the Congress today included Nilamanisen Deka for Dharmapur LAC, zrul Islam for Laharighat LAC in Morigaon, Pradyut Bhuyan for lbari LAC, Rekibuddin Ahmed for Chaygaon LAC, Shankar Prasad Ray for Bongaigaon LAC, minister Basanta Das for Mangoldoi LAC, minister Chandan Sarkar for Abhayapuri South LAC and bajyoti Talukdar for Palashbari LAC.

The scrutiny of the nomitions for the second phase will take place on March 24.

In all, 595 nomitions have been filed for the assembly elections to 61 LACs that will go to polls in the second phase. In Kamrup (metro) alone, 59 nomitions have been filed whereas in Kamrup rural, the tally stands at 36.

Next Story