Breaking News

Assam beat Services by 5 wickets

By our Sports Reporter

GUWAHATI, January 7: Assam defeated Services by 5 wickets and earned six crucial points in the Ranji trophy match held at the Barsapara stadium today. Chasing 27 runs to win Assam batsmen made a comedy of errors before the side filly reached the target in 9.2 overs losing five wickets.

It was the bowlers who completely domited the third day’s play. Altogether 17 wickets were fall and Assam bowlers picked up 10 of them.

A fantastic spell from Swarupam Purkayastha, who bagged five wickets today, forced Services to finish their second innings 170. It gave Assam a chance to win the game with bonus point as they needed only 27 runs to win the tie. However both the opener–Parviz Aziz (0) and  Pallav Kumar Das (8) departed shortly and they were followed by Sib Sankar Roy (6), Arun Karthik (7) and Swarupam  Purkayastha (0). However captain Dheeraj Jadhav (6) and Tarjinder Singh (0) filly took the team to victory facing 12 balls together.

Earlier Assam, who started the day from their overnight score 211–8, finished their 1st innings 257. Syed Mohammad scored half century and remained not out at 56 (128 balls, 4X6). He added 45 runs in the last wicket partnership with Krish Das (17) which turned out to be a very crucial one for his team.

Services started their second innings with a cautions note but once the opening partnership was broken Assam bowlers ripped apart their innings by picking wickets on regular intervals. Swarupam lead from the front and recorded his first five wickets haul in a first class match today. Except Rajat Paliwal (48), Somik Chatterjee (32) and Aman Sharma (23) no other batsmen of Services looked comfortable against the Assam bowlers.


Services 1st innings 113,

Assam 1st innings: P Das c Verma b Yadav 7 P Aziz c Paliwal b Punia 8 S Roy lbw b Yashpal Singh 81 KB Arun Karthik b Sakuja 34 DS Jadhav lbw b Saurabh Kumar 3 Tarjinder Singh c kul Sharma b Yashpal Singh 5 S Purkayastha c Yashpal Singh b Saurabh Kumar 15 J Syed Mohammad not out 56 A Konwar run out (Punia) 9 A Das c  Verma b Yadav 0 K Das     c Sharma b Saurabh Kumar 17  Extras     (b 17, w 2, nb 3) 22 

Total: (all out; 102.4 overs; 436 mins) 257

Fall of wickets:  1–15, 2–17, 3–75, 4–92,5–119, 6–157, 7–177, 8–211, 9–216

Bowling: S Yadav 27–11–36–2 DS Punia 23–7–73–1 Saurabh Kumar 14.4–2–47– 3 A Sakuja 17–4–37–1 RS Paliwal 1–0–2–0 Yashpal Singh 18–4–42–2 A Sharma 2–0–3–0

Services 2nd innings: A Sharma c & b A Das 23  S Chatterjee st  Arun Karthik b Purkayastha 32 N Verma c Arun Karthik b AK Das 0RS Paliwal c Tarjinder Singh b K Das 48 AH Gupta b Syed Mohammad 17 kul Sharma b Syed Mohammad 0 Yashpal Singh c P Das b Purkayastha 7 Saurabh Kumar b Purkayastha 18 DS Punia c Roy b Purkayastha 10 A Sakuja not out 0 S Yadav b Purkayastha 0 Extras (b 5, lb 9, nb 1) 15

Total: (all out; 67.3 overs) 170

Fall of wickets: 1–29, 2–29, 3–82, 4–107, 5–107, 6–124, 7–142, 8–165, 9–170

Bowling: A Das 9–3–21–2, K Das 6–1–26–1, A Konwar 12–4–26–0, J Syed Mohammad 20–3–40–2 S Purkayastha 15.3–3–29– 5, S Roy 3–0–11–0, Tarjinder Singh 2–0–3–0

Assam 2nd innings: P Das lbw b Saurabh Kumar 8 P Aziz lbw b Saurabh Kumar 0 S Roy c Sharma b Saurabh Kumar 6 KB Arun Karthik run out 7 S Purkayastha lbw b Sakuja 0 DS Jadhav not out 6 Tarjinder Singh not out 0 Extras 0 Total (5 wickets; 9.2 overs) 27–5

Fall of wickets: 1–1, 2–10, 3–21, 4–21,5–21

Bowling: Saurabh Kumar 5–1–16–3 Yashpal Singh 3.2–1–11–0 A Sakuja 1–1–0–1

Player of the match:  Arup Das

About the author

Ankur Kalita

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Click Here To Play