Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Margherita Constituency - Population, Polling Percentage, Facilities, Parties Vote Share, Last Election Results

Margherita Constituency - No. of Household, Population, Winner/Runner-up in Last elections & Vote Percentage & more in Assam Assembly Elections.

Margherita Constituency - Population, Polling Percentage, Facilities, Parties Vote Share, Last Election Results

Sentinel Digital Desk

Margherita is a town and an Assembly Constituency in the Tinsukia District of Assam. As it is famous for the Coal Business, the town is also known as 'Coal Queen'. Beautiful sceneries surround the town. It is bounded by tea gardens, Patkai Hills, seen from the town. Even though a small place, people frequently visit here. There are many schools, colleges and hospitals. The population of Margherita includes Bengali, Assamese, Nepali, Odiya and many more. Assamese is the official language of the town. Bihu, is the major festival of the city. They are of three types: Magh Bihu, Kati Bihu and Bohag Bihu. Other than this, other festivals are Durga Puja, Holi, Diwali, Bhai tika, and many more.

Margherita Assembly Constituency: Name & Number

The Legislative Assembly contains 126 members, directly elected from single-seat Constituencies and holds office for five years. It is one of the 126 Assembly Constituencies. The name of the Constituency is Margherita Assembly and bears the Constituency number 124. It falls under the Dibrugarh Lok Sabha Constituency.

Parliamentary Constituency

The Parliamentary Constituencies in India is 542. The General Category seats are 442, and the seats for the Scheduled Castes and the Scheduled Tribes are 84 and 47, respectively. There is no Assembly seat available for the reserved category.


Margherita Assembly Constituency is located in the Tinsukia district of Assam. Tinsukia is one of the 33 Administrative Districts in Assam. Headquarter of the district is situated in Tinsukia city itself. The district is an industrial district that produces a sizeable amount of tea, oranges, ginger etc. Tinsukia district houses the oldest refinery of India in Digboi. Tinsukia is about 532 kilometres away from Dispur by road. As per the census report, 13,27,929 people dwell in the area. Forty-seven percent of the district's total population speaks Hindi, Assamese, Bengali, Nepali, Bhojpuri, Odia and Mising.

Number of Towns

There are six towns in the Margherita circle. They are- Margherita town with 26,918 people, Digboi Town Committee with 21,736 people, Digboi Oil Town Census Town with 12,726 people, Lido Town Census Town with 11,717 people, Borgolai Grant No. II Census Town with 5,241 people and Lido Tikok Census Town with 5,091 people.

Number Of Inhabited Villages

There are about 314 villages in Margherita. Abor Gaon N.C, Agbandha, AgbandhaBangali, AlubariGaon no.1, AlubariGaon no.2, AlubariGaon no.3, Ambikapur, Ambikapur N.C, AmritGaon and Assam Rly. Ward No.85 are some of the villages, to name a few.

Margherita Assembly Status

In the Election of 2016, Margherita Constituency had 1,62,775 voters, and among them, the voter turnout is 1,36,738. In the Election, Bhaskar Sharma, a candidate of the Bharatiya Janata Party, won the election with 76,365 votes by defeating a candidate belonging to the Indian National Congress party, Pradyut Bordoloi, who secured 53,621 votes. The election in Margherita is expected to go polls in April or May 2021.

Total Population of Margherita

According to the 2011 census, Margherita has 3,70,675 people and out of this population, 1,89,653 are male, and 1,81,022 are female. The total number of families living in Margherita is 76627. 22.5% in the town areas and 77.5% are in rural areas. The total literate persons are 2,30,864, from which 1,29,686 are male, and 1,01,178 are female, and the illiterate persons are 1,39,811, of which 59,967 are male, and 79,844 are female.

Number of Households

Margherita is a place with 3,70,675 people and 76,627 households.

Water Connection

The area has a tap water supply facility. It is seen that people also use tube wells and uncovered wells.

Municipality Reach

The basic amenities, such as water and drainage system, is provided.

Demography in Constituency

There are different types of religion in Margherita. These are Hindus, Muslims, Christians, Sikhs, Buddhists, Jains. Hindu is the religion with the highest population of 3,09,774, of which 1,58,507 are male, and 1,51,267 are female, the second-highest is the Muslim religion with a population of 15,665, out of which 8,190 are male and 7,475, the third-highest is the Christian religion with a total of 31,901, out of which 16,134 are male, and 15,767 are female. The fourth highest is the Buddhism religion, with 11,665 people, of which 5,973 are male, and 5,692 are female.

Caste & Tribes in The Margherita Constituency

Scheduled Castes (SC) living in Margherita is 9,517, of which 4,894 are male, and 4,623 are female. Scheduled Tribes (ST) is 23,340, of which 11,870 are male, and 11,470 are female.





Schedule Cast




Schedule Tribe




Top Three Cities in The Constituency

The top three hamlets under the Margherita Constituency are Margherita town, Digboi town and Lido town.

Male/Female Electoral Distribution

1,36,738 are the voters in Margherita Constituency, of which 70,256 are male, and 66,482 are female.

Sex Ratio & Age Group Distribution

The sex ratio is 954 females per 1000 males. According to the census report, the age group distribution in the area is- 51,092 is the number of children between the ages of 0-6, 25,941 are boys, and 25,151 are girls.

Last Three Years Polling Percentage

According to the graph that is given below, it becomes clear that the winning Party for the year 2014, 2016 and 2019 was the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Result Of Last Five Assembly Elections

In the 1996 Assembly Election, Kulbahadur Chetri of the Congress Party(INC) won the election with 28,463 votes by defeating DebojitBarua, an Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) candidate who secured 20,939 total votes.

In 2001, 2006 and 2011 Elections, PradyutBordoloi of the Indian National Congress continuously won the last three elections with 48,377, 59,812 and 57,615 votes, respectively.

Bhaskar Sharma of the Bharatiya Janata Party won the election in 2016 with 76,365 votes by defeating PradyutBordoloi, a candidate of the Indian National Congress, who secured 53,621 total votes.

Assam Assembly Election Year wise

Party Name

Candidate's name

Won by no of votes or %














Indian National Congress (INC)





Bhaskar Sharma


Political Parties Percentage Vote Share in The Last Elections

Bhaskar Sharma, the winner of the 2016 Assembly Election of the Bharatiya Janata Party, got 55.85%, PradyutBordoloi of the Indian National Congress was the runner up with 39.21%, NidanPurty, the Independent candidate, secured 0.97%, BishwanathSingha, Umesh Bora and PurnaChetri, the independent candidates secured 0.96%, 0.94% and 0.5% respectively. The votes secured by NOTA was 1.56% of the total votes.

Candidates Name

Party of the candidates


Bhaskar Sharma












Umesh Bora









Participant Candidates & Result in Last Elections (Winner & Losers)

Bhaskar Sharma, a Bharatiya Janata Party candidate, won the election with 76,365 votes. Pradyut Bordoloi of the Indian National Congress lost the election with 53,621 votes.

Work Done in Last Five Years By The Candidates

Bhaskar Sharma, MLA of Margherita, under the 'Assam Darshan' scheme, has inaugurated the guest house of no. Borholong Namgarh of the Jayhari Primary Brunch, under the Margherita Development Section and LiduGaon Panchayat, renovated the Primary School community hall. He also constructed an extra classroom at the East Border Middle English School under Margherita Constituency.

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News