Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Sadiya Constituency- Population, Polling Percentage, Facilities, Parties Vote Share, Last Election Results

Sadiya Constituency - No. of Household, Population, Winner/Runner-up in Last elections & Vote Percentage & more in Assam Assembly Elections.

Sadiya Constituency- Population, Polling Percentage, Facilities, Parties Vote Share, Last Election Results

Sentinel Digital Desk

Sadiya, located in the Tinsukia district of Assam, is a town and Legislative Assembly Constituency. It is one of the three Sub-Divisions of the Tinsukia district. It is located at 27.83 degrees north and 95.67 degrees east. Sadiya is famous for a flower called 'Satphul,' and it is much like the jasmine flower. The official language of Sadiya is Assamese.

Sadiya Assembly Constituency: Name & Number

The Legislative Assembly contains 126 members of the Legislative Assembly directly elected from single-seat constituencies and holds office for five years. The name of the constituency is Sadiya Assembly Constituency. It is one of 126 assembly constituencies and bears the constituency number 126. It is also a part of the Lakhimpur Lok Sabha Constituency.

Parliamentary Constituency

The number of Parliamentary Constituencies in India is 542, and out of this, the seats for the general category are 441, and the seat for SC and ST are 84 and 47, respectively. Sadiya Assembly Constituency is a part of the Lakhimpur Lok Sabha Constituency, and there is no assembly seat for the reserved category.


Sadiya is located in the Tinsukia district, as Tinsukia is one of the 33 administrative districts in Assam. The headquarters of the district is situated at Tinsukia City. The district is an industrial district that produces a sizeable amount of tea, oranges, ginger, etc. The oldest oil refinery in India is situated at Digboi. Tinsukia is about 532 km away from Dispur by road. Dibrugarh airport is the nearest airport which is about 40 km away from Tinsukia.

Number of District

The only town under Sadiya Assembly Constituency is Chapakhowa town, with 10305 number of total population.

Number of Inhabited Villages

There are about 173 villages in the Sadiya block. The names of some of the villages are: Bacha Gaon, Bishnupur, Bishnupur Pohukhowa, Boiragi Math, Borogah Assamiya, Chapakhowa, Kundil, and Rampur Megela.

Assembly Status

In the Assembly Election of 2016, Sadiya Constituency had a total number of 156238 voters, and out of this, the voters' turnout was 120748. In the election, Bolin Chetia, a candidate of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), won the election with 38845 total votes by defeating Birinchi Neog, a candidate of the Indian National Party (INC), who got 32279 votes. The Sadiya Assembly Constituency is expected to poll in April-may 2021 as a part of the 2021 Assam Assembly Election.

Total Population of Sadiya

According to the 2011 census, Sadiya has a total population of 102434, out of which 52572 are male population and 49862 are females. The total number of families living in the Sadiya circle was 19317 families. Out of the total population, 10305 people live in the urban area, of which 5327 are male, and 4978 are female, and the number of people living in the rural area is 92129, of which 47245 are male, and 44884 are female. The populations of people living in rural areas are more than the people living in urban areas.

Total Population 2011 Census







Number of households

Sadiya is a place with a 102434 population, and there are about 19317 households, of which 17048 are rural households, and 2269 are urban households.

Water Connection

The area does not have supply water. They mainly depend on well, tube wells, underground water, and river water for their daily consumption and usage.

Street Light

There are no street lights, but the government has issued a tender for installing hybrid solar lights in the Sadiya highway that connects Arunachal and Assam.

Municipality Reach

Currently, there is no municipal area in the constituency. The villages are overseen by the Gram Panchayat and the town by the town committee.

Demography of Sadiya

The people of Sadiya, as per the census report of 2011, are of a different religion. The religion with the highest population is the Hindu religion, with 94773 total populations out of which 48657 are male, and 46116 are female. Next is the Muslim religion with 3144 population of which 1648 are male, and 1496 are female. Then, the Christian religion has a total of 2088 population of which 1066 are male, and 1022 are female. Also,the Sikh religion has a total population of 22 out of which ten are male and 12 female. And,the Buddhists have a total population of 2081 of which 1036 are male, and 1045 are female. The religion with the lowest population is Jain, with 11 people, four males, and seven females.

Caste & Tribes in Constituency

According to the 2011 census, Schedule Caste (SC) living in Sadiya is 2974 of which 1516 are male, and 1458 are females, and Scheduled Tribe (ST) residing in Sadiya is 25167 of which 12908 are male, and 12259 are females.

Top Cities of Sadiya Constituency

The only town under Sadiya Assembly Constituency is Chapakhowa town.

Male Female Electoral Distribution

The total number of voters in the Sadiya constituency is 120748, of which 61557 is the number of its male voters and 59191 is the number of its female voters.

Sex Ratio

The sex ratio of Sadiya is 948 females per 1000 males, which is higher than the state average of 904.

Age Group Distribution

The age group distribution in the area, as per the 2011 census, for the children 0 to 6 is 14353, which is 14% of the total population, and among the entire population, 7396 are boys and 6957 girls.

Last Three Years Polling Percentage

The graph that is given below shows that the winning party for the years 2011, 2016, and 2019 has been the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). This party has continuously won in the past three elections.

Result of Last Five Assam Elections

  • In the Assam Assembly Election 1996 and 2001, Jogdish Bhuyan of the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) party won the election with 27511 and 35748 votes, respectively.
  • In the year 2006, 2011, and 2016, Bolin Chetia of the Indian National Congress party (INC) has been the winner consistently with total votes of 47045, 46318 and 38845, respectively.
  • Also in the 2016 Assembly Election, he changed his party from the Indian National Party (INC) to Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Political Parties Percentage Vote Share in Last Elections

Bolin Chetia, the winner of the 2016 Assembly Election of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), got 32.14%, Birinchi Neog of the Indian National Congress Party (INC) was the runner up with 26.71%, Lakhin Chandra Chetia of the independent (IND) party secured 18.21%, Dindayal Verma of the Independent (IND) party secured 10.33%, and Tikendra Thapa who was also the Independent (IND) candidate secured 4.18%.

Polling Percentage or Votes


Jogdish Bhuyan (AGP)

40.02% (27,511 votes)


Jogadish Bhuyan (AGP)

45.26% (35,748 votes)


Bolin Chetia (INC)

47,045 votes


Bolin Chetia (INC)

44.95% (46,318 votes)


Bolin Chetia (BJP)

32.14% (38,845 votes)

Participant Candidates in Last Election & Result (Winner & Looser)

Bolin Chetia, a candidate of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), won the election with a total number of 38845 votes, and Birinchi Neog, a candidate of the Indian National Party (INC), lost the election with 32279 votes.

Next Story