Tezpur Constituency - Populations, Polling Percentage, Facilities, Manifesto, Last Election Results

Check Tezpur assembly constituency - No. of Household, Population, Winner/Runner-up in Last elections & Vote Percentage & more in Assam Assembly Elections.
Tezpur Constituency - Populations, Polling Percentage, Facilities, Manifesto, Last Election Results

The constituency of Tezpur is located in the Sonitpur district of Assam. The city is surrounded by towns like- Dhekiajuli, Biswanath Chariali, Chariduar, Kaliabor, Nagaon, etc. Tezpur is a renowned city in all of Assam as it is one of the thriving cultural, historical and educational hubs of the state. Darrang college is one of the prestigious academic institutions in the city which is also known as the Nalanda of the North East. 

Additionally, the city is also famous for housing some of the ancient tourist spots like- the Agnigarh, Maithan, Mahavairab temple, among others. As the city is situated in the centre of middle Assam; hence there is no shortage of transportation ranging from buses to the railways. The city is also served by the Salani Airport, located just a few kilometres away from the city. The UNESCO heritage site Kaziranga national park is a major tourist destination situated near Tezpur, which is about 100kms away from the city.

Tezpur Assembly Constituency: Name & Number

Tezpur assembly constituency bears the No 73 among the 126 constituencies of Assam Legislative Assembly. The Lok Sabha constituency has nine assembly segments which are as follows- Dhekiajuli, Barchalla, Tezpur, Rangapara, Sootea, Biswanath, Behali, Gohpur, Bihpuria.


As mentioned in the first section, Tezpur comes within the Sonitpur district of Assam. The pin code of the same is 784001. Tezpur can also be considered as the headquarter of the Sonitpur district as all the major administrative offices are located in Tezpur. Sonitpur is the second largest district of Assam, Karbi Anglong being the first. The Brahmaputra is the major river passing through the heart of Sonitpur and Jiabharali, Gabharu, Borang, etc., are its tributaries. Tezpur is located on the banks of river Brahmaputra and is also the largest town on the north bank.

Number of Towns

Tezpur is surrounded by multiple small and big towns. In the said constituency Tezpur is the only big town prevalent.

Number of Inhabited Villages

Apart from the town, there are 128 inhabited villages. Out of these, Dolabari is regarded as the most populated village. There are numerous small and large rural areas inside Tezpur, which makes it a voluminous town with a population exceeding the number of 100,000.

Assembly Status

Tezpur falls under the 126 assembly constituencies of Assam Vidhan Sabha Constituency. As per the election statistics of 2016, the total number of registered voters from the Tezpur constituency is 164365, out of which 135094 voters turned out for the 2016 assembly elections.

Total Population

The population of the Tezpur assembly constituency according to the 2011 census is 256260. Out of the total population, 60% of people belonged to the rural area, and 40% of people live in urban areas.

Total Population

Rural Population(in %)

Urban Population(in %)




Number of households

There are 19812 number of households in the Tezpur rural area and 3110 number of households in the urban area.

Water Connection

Tap water is provided all round the year. Apart from the tap water, community wells, hand-pumps are also found in and around Tezpur. 

Street light

Street lights are there in most localities including certain rural areas.

Municipality Reach in the area

The prime areas that come under the municipal reach are Barika Chuburi, Gutlong Gaon, Majgaon, Tezpur( Municipal Growth+outgrowth) and Tezpur (Municipal Board).

Constituency Demography

People prophesying different religions are residents of Tezpur. The chart below gives detailed information -















Other religious groups


Non specified religions


Castes & Tribes in Tezpur

As per the 2011 census, the place has 6.7% scheduled caste people, out of which 5.4% reside in the rural areas and 8.9% reside in the urban areas. Additionally, it has 1.7% of scheduled tribes.

Top 3 Cities in Tezpur Constituency

Tezpur constituency has no cities.

Male/Female Electoral Distribution

According to the Election Commission of India, there are a total of 83043 male voters and 81323 female voters in Tezpur.

Sex Ratio

The sex ratio in the city is 959 females per 1000 males.

Age group Distribution

As per age group, there are 9,835 children within the age group of 0-6 years. Out of these 9,835 children, 5032 are male, and 4803 are female.The children population comprises 9.59% of the total population of Tezpur as per the 2011 Census.

Tezpur Polling Percentage in the Last 2016 Assembly Elections

The polling percentage of Tezpur assembly constituency for the 2016 Vidhan Sabha elections is 82.05%.

Result of Last Five Elections

  • In the 1996 Assam Assembly Elections, Brindaban Goswami from Assam Gana Parishad party won the Tezpur seat with 30706 number of votes. He defeated Bijit Saikia of INC party.
  • In the 2001 Assam Assembly Elections, Brindaban Goswami from AGP party won the Tezpur seat with 30030 number of votes. He defeated Robindra Kumar Goswami of INC party.
  • In the 2006 Assam Assembly Elections, Brindaban Goswami from AGP party won the Tezpur seat with 53274 votes. He defeated Bijit Saikia of INC party.
  • In the 2011 Assam Assembly Elections, Rajen Borthakur from INC party won the Tezpur seat with 43738 votes. He defeated Brindaban Goswami of AGP party.
  • In the 2016 Assam Assembly Elections, Brindaban Goswami from AGP party won the Tezpur seat with 71170 votes. He defeated Hiranya Bhuyan of INC party.

Assam Assembly Election Year wise

Party Name

Candidate's name

Won by no of votes or %


Asom Gana Parishad


Brindaban Goswami



Asom Gana Parishad


Brindaban Goswami



AsomGana Parishad (AGP)

Brindaban Goswami



Indian National Congress (INC)

Rajen Borthakur



AsomGana Parishad (AGP)

Brindaban Goswami


Political Parties Percentage Vote Share in 2016 Assam Assembly Election

The percentage of votes in the Tezpur constituency received by different political parties in the 2016 assembly elections is stated below-

● BJP- 57.48%

● INC- 37.08%

● Independent- 1.99%

● NOTA- 1.31%

Participated Candidates & Result in Assam Assembly Election 2016

In the 2016 Assam Assembly Elections AGP contestant, Brindaban Goswami won with 71170 votes. INC contestant Hiranya Bhuyan was his opponent who lost the election as he could manage to get only 36507 votes. Brindaban Goswami got a total of 52.56% of votes compared to Hiranya Bhuyan's 29.96% votes.

Work Done in the Last 5 years:

As per the works done by the candidate, it is seen that the road conditions in and around Tezpur have been developed with visible changes. Other than that, multiple schemes have been announced for the tea garden workers as well. Tezpur has also been recognised as one of the cleanest cities of Assam, so ample attention was paid to the Clean India Mission as well.

Schemes/projects Announced for Tezpur Constituencies

Assam Minister for Finance, Health, Education and PWD, Himanta Biswa Sharma announced the construction of two flyovers in Tezpur worth Rs. 321.41 crore as an aid to tackle the issue of traffic and improve transport and communication.

Top Headlines

No stories found.
Sentinel Assam