Bijni Assembly - Population, Polling Percentage, Facilities, Parties Vote Share, Last Election Results

Bijni Assembly - No. of Household, Population, Winner/Runner-up in Last elections & Vote Percentage & more in Assam Assembly Elections.
Bijni Assembly - Population, Polling Percentage, Facilities, Parties Vote Share, Last Election Results

Bijni is one of the 126 assembly constituencies of the Assam assembly constituency. It is designated as the 33rd assembly constituency and comes under the Kokrajhar Lok Sabha constituency.

Assembly Constituency Name & Number- Bijni, 33

Bijni is one among the 126 assembly constituencies of the Assam assembly constituency. It is serialized as the 33rd assembly constituency and comes under the Kokrajhar Lok Sabha constituency. Based on the 2011 population census reports, the Bijni assembly constituency has a population of 203949 people, and the total area of Bijni is 171 square kilometre. There are almost 25,840 houses in the Bijni sub-district. Dolani is the main river in Bijni, which currently has two bridges over it, and the city is flanked by two major tributaries of Manas. It is well known for carpentry works and furniture productions.

Parliamentary Constituency 

India has a total of 542 parliamentary constituencies. The general category occupies a total of 441 seats, and S.C. and S.T. categories occupy 84 & 47 seats, respectively. Bijni constituency falls under the Kokrajhar parliamentary constituency. The Lok Sabha or the parliamentary constituency falls under the category of reserved seats for S.T. Kokrajhar Lok Sabha constituency has 1,377,837 electorates in total, out of which 670,234 are females and 707,603 are males based on the 2009 Election Commission data. Naba Kumar Sarania, who contested independently, won the 2019 Lok Sabha elections by defeating Pramila Rani Brahma from the Bodoland People's Front. The winning margin of votes was 39,146 votes. [Also Check - List of Bijni Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Polling Booths]


Chirang is an administrative district of the Bodoland Territorial Region of Assam with its district headquarters in Kalaigaon. It is comparatively a new district in the Territorial Region of Bodoland Assam, which was carved out of Bongaigaon district in the year 2004. The word Chirang has its origin in the Garo language, where Chi means Water and Rang means Rain. Chirang is spread to a region of 1,169.9 square kilometres.

Chirang predominantly has two assembly constituencies, namely- Sidli and Bijni, with Kokrajhar as the parliamentary constituency. As per the 2011 census, Kokrajhar's population comprises of 482,162 people with 410 per square kilometre density. This gives Chirang 547th ranking in India out of 640. There are 244 inhabitants in the district per square kilometre. Over the last ten years, from 2001 to 2011, the place has seen a population growth of over 11.26%.

The 2011 census report says Chirang district has a population of 482,162 with 547th ranking in all India basis. The population density of the Chirang district is 244 inhabitants per square kilometre. From the year 2001 to 2010, Kokrajhar has seen a population growth of 11.26, and it has a literacy rate of 64.71%. The sex ratio of the district is 969 females for every 1000 male. Bodos form the major part of the population of the district with 32%, and it has about 16% Muslim people. 22% of Chirang's population form a part of the tea tribe community, and 30% people a mix of Assamese, Bengali and other tribes. Chirang is located at latitude-26.6 and longitude- 90.9, and it shares its borders with Bongaigaon and Bhutan.

There are three taluks and 26 villages in Chirang district, and it is in the 16th position in the state by the number of villages. As far as healthcare is concerned, Chirang has one civil hospital called Chirang Civil Hospital and another public hospital called Augustine Hospital. Chirang is well connected via bus routes; however, it does not have any railway station or airport of its own.

Assembly status

In the 2016 assembly elections, Bijni had a total of 134032 registered voters. Out of the entire figure, there are 69628 male voters, and 64404 are female voters. In the said election, the voter turnout percentage was 88.69%, and Kamal Singh Narzary, who represented BOPF, won with 29240 votes. Ajay Kumar Ray, who contested from the BGANP party, was the runner up, and he got 27562 votes. The winning margin was 1672 votes.

Total population

According to the 2011 census, the population of Bijni was 203949. Out of the total population, 93.5% of people belonged to the rural area, and 6.5% of people lived in urban areas.

Cast and tribe in the constituency

In Bijni, 13.08% of people belong to the Scheduled Caste, and 23.59% of people are from the Schedule tribe.

Top three cities in the constituency

There are no major cities in Bijni. It is surrounded by numerous villages, and some of them are Kawatika, Saktola, Amguri, Puran Bijni, Gerukabari, Lechiagaon, Bhetagaon, Goraimari, Majrabari, Bijni Panbari, Doturi, Batabari, etc.

Male/Female Electoral Distributions 

As per the Election commission of India, Bijni has 134032 registered voters in the 2016 assembly elections. Out of these, 69628 are male voters, and 64404 are female voters.

Polling percentage for the last three years (which constituency has been the stronghold for which party and for how long. What has been the voting pattern)-

In the last three elections, i.e. 2014, 2016, 2019, BOPF and IND1 are seen to be dominating and consistent political parties gathering ample amounts of votes. BGANP comes in the second position, which got a comparatively lesser amount of votes than the BOPF and IND1. In the 2016 Vidhansabha elections, Kamal Singh Narzary of the BOPF party won with 29240 votes. The runner in the same election was Ajay Kumar Ray from the BGANP party, who got 27562 votes. The winner, Kamal Singh Narzary from the BOPF party, won with a margin of 1678 votes.

In the previous assembly elections, that is, the 2011 elections, the same candidate that is Kamal Singh Narzary from BOPF, won with 39861 votes. The runner up was Khalilur Rahman from the Indian National Congress. The winning margin was 13325 votes.

The 2019 Lok sabha elections have Naba Kumar Sarania as the winner who contested independently and won with 59430 votes, with a 37.68% share. Pramila Rani Brahma was the runner up who contested from the BOPF and got 24.26% of the total share of votes. The lowest of all was Rajesh Narzary from the VPI party, who got only 1.05% of votes.

Percentage of the vote share of political parties in the last election

The voting percentage of winning party BOPF is 24.5%, and the runner up party that is BGANP is 23.09%. Other losing contestants from other parties like AIUDF and independent candidates got 15.25% and 16.21%, and 10.57%, respectively. As we can see that the wave of victory is weighted towards BOPF in the Assembly elections; the same might repeat in the 2021 assembly elections as well.

Candidates in the last election & result (winner and Looser)

In the last assembly election, the BOPF candidate Kamal Singh Narzary won with a total vote of 29240 with a 24.25% share. Ajay Kumar Ray from the BGANP lost the battle with a margin of 1678 votes. Santosh Khaklary, a candidate from the IND party, came in the third position by securing 19350 votes. The least of them all is Kamaleshwar Ray and Khalilur Rahman, who got 18197 and 12619 votes, respectively.

As observed through both the assembly and parliamentary elections, the graph is not entirely stable. As for the current situation, it can be asserted that the dominating party in the said constituency is BOPF. Therefore, in the coming elections, too, it can be predicted that BOPF is in a favourable position and might win the 2021 assembly elections as well.

Top Headlines

No stories found.
Sentinel Assam