Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Dispur Assembly - Population, Polling Percentage, Facilities, Parties Vote Share, Last Election Results

Dispur Assembly - No. of Household, Population, Winner/Runner-up in Last elections & Vote Percentage & more in Assam Assembly Elections.

Dispur Assembly - Population, Polling Percentage, Facilities, Parties Vote Share, Last Election Results

Sentinel Digital Desk

Dispur Assembly Constituency is located in the district of Kamrup Metropolitan and falls under GauhatiLok Sabha Constituency. Dispur, a locality of Guwahati, is Assam's capital. The Assam Secretariat building in Dispur - the home seat of the Assam government. Other official buildings such as the Assam Assembly House, MLA Hostels and State Emergency Operations Centre are in Dispur.

Assembly constituency name and number:

Dispur Assembly Constituency – one of one hundred and twenty-six constituencies of Assam Legislative Assembly. It is in the Kamrup Metropolitan district and falls under the GauhatiLok Sabha Assembly. It bears the constituency number 52. Assam's largest constituency is Dispur.

Parliamentary constituency:

GauhatiLok Sabha Constituency spreads over Goalpara, Kamrup, Kamrup Metropolitan and Nalbari districts. The present Lok Sabha MP of the constituency is Queen Oja (BJP).


Kamrup Metropolitan is a district in Assam and was created by bifurcating the erstwhile undivided Kamrup district on 3rd of February, 2003. The district's population is 1,253,938 as per data of 2011 Assam census.

Number of city:

The only city under Dispur is Guwahati.

Number of inhabited villages:

There are about five villages under Dispur. Major villages are Kharguli, No.1 Bonda Grant and Kalitakuchi N.C.

Assembly Status:

The current MLA of Dispur Assembly Constituency is Atul Bora (BJP).

Total population:

Dispur's population is 499420 of which 32.16% is its rural population and 67.84% is its urban population.

Number of households:

There are about 131101 houses under Dispur.

Water connection:

The households in Dispur has facilities of tap water from a treated source. Few houses have tube wells, boreholes and overhead tanks.

Street light:

There are facilities of domestic electrification in Dispur.

Municipality reach:

The basic civic infrastructure in Dispur is taken care of by Guwahati Municipal Corporation.

Caste and tribes in the constituency:

In Dispur, Scheduled Caste ratio is 7.82 and Scheduled Tribe ratio is 7.03.

Top three cities in Dispur Assembly Constituency:

The only city under Dispur in Guwahati.

Male/female electoral distribution:

Dispur has 355580 electorates, which includes 181332 males and 174248 females.

Sex ratio:

Dispur's sex ratio is 929 females per thousand males.

Age group distribution:

Polling percentage for previous three years:

The polling percentage in Dispur Assembly Constituency in the Lok Sabha Election in 2019 was 75.57%, and it was 78.06% in the 2016 Assam Assembly Election.

Result of previous five election:

Assam Assembly Election 1996's winner is Atul Bora of AGP with 26175 votes.

In 2001, Robin Bordoloi of INC was the winner with 46871 votes.

In 2006, Akon Bora INC was a winner with 52461 votes. He won the assembly seat again in 2011 with 83096 votes.

Atul Bora of BJP won the Assam Assembly Election 2016 with 198378 votes.

Percentage vote share of political party in previous election:

Assam Assembly Election 2016's winner is Atul Bora of AGP with 71.14% of votes. Akon Bora of INC was the runner up with 24.45% of votes. Sangita Das of the CPI (M) secured 0.7% of votes. Pradip Baruah of NCP secured 0.45% of votes. Bidyut Bora of AITC secured 0.37% of votes, RijumoniGogoi of BHARP secured 0.17%, Dr Jitendra Kumar Talukdar of LDP secured 0.15% of votes, DrFaruk Ahmed Bhuyan of Samajwadi Party secured 0.14% of votes, Bandana B Baruah of RAJPA secured 0.12% of votes and Parag Koch of Republican Party of India secured 0.08% of thevotes. Independent candidates HareshwarRahang, DadhiswarPhangcho, Bishnu Prasad Sarma and Gobinda Das secured 0.63%, 0.26%, 0.22% and 0.2% of votes, respectively.

Candidates in previous election and result:

The candidates who contested the 2016 Assam Assembly Election are Atul Bora of BJP, Akon Bora (INC) Sangita Das of the CPI (Marxist), Pradip Baruah of NCP, Bidyut Bora of AITC,RijumoniGogoi of BHARP, Dr Jitendra Kumar Talukdar of LDP, DrFaruk Ahmed Bhuyan of Samajwadi Party, Bandana Barman Baruah of RAJPA, Parag Koch of Republican Party of India and independent candidates HareshwarRahang, DadhiswarPhangcho, Bishnu Prasad Sarma and Gobinda Das. In the end, Atul Bora of BJP emerged as the winner with 71.14% of votes.

Big-ticket schemes/ projects announced in the run-up to the elections Dispur Assembly constituency:

The forthcoming Assam Assembly election of 2021, we see different political parties contesting have laid out their manifestos to the public. The state President of Congress in Assam, Ripun Bora, announced farm debts waiver in the similar fashion that the party's governments have been doing in Punjab, Rajasthan, and Chattisgarh, and Madhya Pradesh. The manifesto also mentioned the waiver of all loans of microfinance for women to ease the woe of women of villages who are involved in taking microfinance loans from such organization. It also declared that a Bill passed in a unanimous way in the just-concluded assembly session for protecting an economically vulnerable class of the society, specifically women, from money lenders and microfinance institutions. It further announced the execution of the ''NyuntamAayYojana'' (Nyay), a scheme that guarantees minimum income which the party had mentioned in the manifesto in the preceding polls in Lok Sabha. The party also promised one hundred and twenty units of electricity for free for the economically weaker and also middle class which will provide them relief from paying a hefty sum of electricity bill every month. Congress also ensured one job per family to curb unemployment and poverty by adopting the scheme ''One Family, One Job''. The Congress also aims to safeguard communal harmony and believes that people should be not divided people based on religion, caste, community or language.

BJP has come to a decision to involve the general public's opinion in drafting its manifestos. They declared that around a hundred vehicles with audio-visual presentations will tour Assam so that Assam's citizens are capable of conveying what they want in the manifesto. The reaching out process has missed call facility whereby people are capable of stating their opinions. They also declared to have sealed the porous Indo Bangladesh border and declared that a technological solution is employed to see to it that there cannot be illegal infiltration. The BJP, who has provided almost 8000 old namghars with 2.5,00,00 rupees each, has promised to broaden benefit to other namghars as well. They have also given land pattas to indigenous landless people. The goal targeted by the party is to secure hundred plus seats of the 126-member assembly.

The AGP, led by Atul Bora, has allied with BJP. It has promised to find a remedy for floods issues in Assam to make better the well-being of women, children and economically weaker class.

After the CAA was passed, LurinjyotiGogoi, General Secretary, All Assam Student Union, declared the start of Assam Jatiya Prasad which aspires to achieves the aspirations of the dwellers of Assam.

Another political party that was recently formed is AkhilGogoi-led RisorDol with the coming together of 70 indigenous organizations of Assam. They have promised to work for the Assam's indigenous residents of Assam.

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News