ATASU delegates meeting in Demow

ATASU delegates  meeting in Demow

A Correspondent

DEMOW, June 27: Under the patronage of All Tai Ahom Students’ Union (ATASU) Demow Regional Committee, a triennial delegates meeting of the ATASU Sivasagar subdivision committee was organized in Demow Multi-Purpose Bhavan on Tuesday. The programme started with flag hoisting by Gobin Gogoi, vice-president of ATASU Sivasagar District Committee. After that a protest rally was taken out against the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, 2016 and to demand ST status for the Tai Ahoms. In the protest rally, ATASU activists shouted various slogans against the Chief Minister and the Central government. Jayanta Handique, president of ATASU subdivision committee, presided over the triennial delegates meeting. Chandan Gogoi was selected as president, Sandip Gogoi was selected as working president and Dharmen Gogoi and Dinesh Gogoi as joint secretaries of the 41-member ATASU Sivasagar subdivision committee.

Top Headlines

No stories found.
Sentinel Assam