Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Letters to the Editor

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  27 Dec 2017 12:00 AM GMT

Misspelt Voter IDs

It is observed that maximum voters have their voter ID cards with wrong mes and with spelling errors. The voters did not submit such mes by themselves in the application forms that were submitted to the Government.

It is the blunder committed by the officials of the respective department.

Therefore, I urge the Election Commission to rectify the errors of the individual voters and issue the rectified IDs instantly at their residences.

The voters have now suffered a lot to rectify the defects by running from pillar to post. Further, I request the authority to book the respective employees who have committed such blunders at the time of printing the IDs.

Prasanta Baruah,

Dr ZH Path, Mathuragar,

Dispur, Guwahati - 6.

Women empowerment

The Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs (CCES) has approved a new scheme called 'Pradhan Mantri Mahila Shakti Kendra', aiming to empower rural women through community participation for creating an environment to unleash their potential to the fullest.

The PMMSK will work at various levels. The tiol level (domain - based knowledge support) and State level (State resource centre for women) structures will provide technical support to respective governments on issues related to women.

Besides, the district and block level centres will provide support to PMMSK and also give a foothold to 'Beti Bachao Beti Padhao' scheme in 640 districts, which will be covered in a phased manner. The scheme is part of the umbrella scheme - 'Mission for Protection and Empowerment for Women'- of the Ministry of Women and Child Development.

The PMMSK approved by CCEA is undoubtedly a valued scheme which will empower rural women of our country. We hope the scheme will provide scope to rural women to approach the government for availing of their entitlements, as well as empower them through training and capacity building.

Satish Kumar Sarma,


Biswath Chariali.

Next Story