Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Hrithik Roshan & Alia Bhatt included in Oscars Academy's list of new members

The Academy has announced that the new invitees include 36 per cent of people of colour and 45 per cent women

Alia Bhatt, Hrithik Roshan On Oscars Academy, Bollywod actors, Oscars 2020

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  1 July 2020 1:20 PM GMT

Guwahati: Bollywood actors Alia Bhatt and Hrithik Roshan are among the 819 artists and executives who have received invitations to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) this year.

The Academy has announced that the new invitees include 36 percent of people of colour and 45 per cent women. This time around, artists from 68 countries have been invited as members.

It is to be mentioned that on Wednesday, the official Twitter account of the Academy shared the names of the invitees, "Say hello to our brand new class of Academy members." Besides Alia and Hrithik, documentary filmmakers Nishtha Jain and Amit Madheshiya, designer Neeta Lulla, casting director Nandini Shrikent, visible results supervisors Vishal Anand and Sandeep Kamal have obtained invites from the Academy.

The academy hailed Alia Bhatt for her performances in the movies Gully Boy (which was India's official entry for the 2020 Oscars) and Raazi, whereas Super 30 and Jodhaa Akbar had been listed as Hrithik Roshan's outstanding works. Neeta Lulla's work in Jodhaa Akbar and Devdas additionally fetched her an invitation.

The Academy has diversified in its voting to avoid a controversy like 2016 when the Oscars were dubbed as "too white" for failing to recognize talents of color.

"The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is extending invitations to join the organization to 819 artists and executives who have distinguished themselves by their contributions to theatrical motion pictures. The 2020 class is 45% women, 36% underrepresented ethnic/racial communities, and 49% international from 68 countries," reads an excerpt from the assertion.

The 2020 batch also boasts of major Hollywood names like Cynthia Erivo, John David Washington, Constance Wu, Zazie Beetz, Florence Pugh, Zendaya, Awkwafina, Yalitza Aparicio, Mackenzie Davis, Ana de Armas, Adele Haenel, Thomasin McKenzie, Olivia Wilde, among others.

The list of invitees also includes The Farewell actress Awkwafina, who was snubbed at the Oscars this year. Eva Longoria, Joker star Zazie Beetz and to-be Bond girl Ana de Armas were also given the nod. Disney child star Zendaya (for Spider-Man: Far from Home) and Constance Wu, best known for her performances in Hustlers and Crazy Rich Asians, also received invitations this year.

ALSO WATCH: The Mores: Lets Talk Lifestyle & Fashion

Next Story