Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

AIDWA protests against Bill, submits memo to CM

AIDWA protests against Bill, submits memo to CM

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  29 Jun 2018 11:30 PM GMT


GUWAHATI, June 29: The city has seen yet another protest against the controversial Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, 2016. The All India Democratic Women’s Association (AIDWA), Assam State Committee staged a sit-in protest at Dighalipukhuripar against the Bill today.

During the protest, AIDWA president Hima Biswas said, “The controversial Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, 2016 is against the interest of the indigenous people of Assam. It will defeat the very essence of the Assam Accord, which will nullify the March 24, 1971 cut-off date to detect and declare foreign nationals.” She observed that all the foreigners who infiltrated into Assam’s territory should be deported to their homeland, irrespective of them being Hindu or Muslim. The president highly criticized the State government for its overall failure in mitigating the damage caused by recurring floods. “Without adapting a scientific method to reduce the loss incurred by the flood, the State government’s worshipping of the land and the river is indeed ironic,” she said.

Taking a dig at the present law-and-order scenario of the State, the president blamed that the State is utterly failing in controlling criminal activities like rape, human trafficking, sexual violence, and so on.

In the meantime, the women’s body forwarded a memorandum to the Chief Minister of the State Sarbananda Sonowal. In the memorandum, they demanded the withdrawal of Citizenship (Amendment) Bill 2016, publication of complete NRC draft on the scheduled date including the names of all the genuine Indian citizens, rehabilitation of all flood-affected people, checking violence against women, regulation of exorbitant prices, proper distribution of PDS commodities, measures to fight superstitions, and stringent punishment for the culprits involved in the killing of the two youths, Nilotpal Das and Abhijeet Nath.

Next Story