Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

AIUDF To Name Candidates After Congress Declares Full List

AIUDF To Name Candidates After Congress Declares Full List

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  21 March 2019 1:10 AM GMT

GUWAHATI: Even as the last date for filing of nomination papers for the first phase of Lok Sabha election is March 25, the AIUDF does not seem to be in a haste to name its candidates. Talking to The Sentinel, AIUDF general secretary Haider Bora has said that it will name candidates only after the Congress names all candidates for the poll.

Poll campaign by the party has preceded naming of candidates. Party president Badruddin Ajmal has already started campaign for the party. On Wednesday, he took out a bike rally in Barpeta where he addressed an election rally as well.

Even as the AIUDF has been maintaining that it has no electoral understanding with the Congress and it is going to field seven candidates in the State, the BJP alleges that the Congress and the AIUDF have reached a secret understanding.

According to AIUDF sources, the party has already held an election committee meeting, and the party candidates will be named in the next meeting of the committee.

According to party sources, this time around sitting Barpeta MP Sirajuddin Ajmal is not going to contest the Lok Sabha election. Former MLA Rafiqul Islam is the front runner in the party for its Barpeta ticket. Even as sitting MP Badruddin Ajmal is set to contest from Dhubri, Karimganj sitting MP Radheshyam Biswas has Rajesh Mallah as contender for Karimganj ticket of the party. Among other probable candidates are Karimuddin Borbhuyan from Silchar, former MLA Aditya Langthasa and Champak Kalita from Nagaon, Aminul Islam and Jisanuddin from Kaliabor, Jehrul Islam and Nathu Boro for Mangaldai.


Next Story