Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

AIUDF-UPPL Alliance In Three Lok Sabha Constituencies

AIUDF-UPPL Alliance In Three Lok Sabha Constituencies

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  4 April 2019 2:36 AM GMT

GUWAHATI: The All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) has formed an alliance with United People’s Party-Liberal (UPPL) over three Lok Sabha constituencies in Kokrajhar, Dhubri, and Barpeta.

All India United Democratic Front will support UPPL candidate Urkhao Gwra Brahma in Kokrajhar constituency, while UPPL will be supporting All India United Democratic Front in Dhubri and Barpeta. Sitting MP and AIUDF Chief Badruddin Ajmal will contest from Dhubri constituency while Hafiz Rafiqul Islam will contest from Barpeta.

At a press communiqué on Wednesday, AIUDF General Secretary Aminul Islam and UPPL Vice President Rwnguran Narzary announced that the alliance was formed over both the parties’ mutual agreement on certain matters of grave concern.

“Our parties have come into an understanding because we concur on the same issues like establishing peace and harmony in BTAD areas and overseeing development in these areas. Our prime goal, however, is to fight the Citizenship Amendment Bill (CAB) together. We want the CAB opposing voters to remain undivided while casting their votes”, said Narzary. Islam commented that Rahul Gandhi sought an alliance with AIUDF and the party too desired a united opposition against CAB but it failed to come through. All India United Democratic Front has fielded three candidates in Karimganj, Dhubri and Barpeta constituencies, while UPPL has fielded two candidates in Kokrajhar and Mangaldoi. However, AIUDF has committed no alliance with UPPL in Mangaldoi constituency.


Next Story