Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

‘Assam State Film Awards & Film Festival’ from today

‘Assam State Film Awards & Film Festival’ from today

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  28 July 2018 7:33 AM GMT

Decision to present 7 new awards from this session


GUWAHATI, July 27: The 7th Assam State Film Awards & Film Festival, 2018 will be organized by the Assam State Film (Finance & Development) Corporation (ASFFDC) in collaboration with the State Cultural Affairs Directorate at the Srimanta Sankardev Kalakshetra on July 28 and 29.

Talking to the reporters in Guwahati on Friday, Cultural Affairs Minister Naba Kumar Doley said that the grand festival will be graced by State’s Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal as chief guest while distinguished film personalities from Bollyhood like actor cum director Amol Palekar and director Prakash Jha will grace the occasion as guest of honour. Notably, Amol Palekar is the Chairperson of the Jury members constituted for the Assam State Film Award, 2018 and the films to be selected for the awards were screened from July 8, last.

During the mega event, the State government will present 29 awards in various categories for the sessions 2015-16 and 2016-17 each. Apart from the existing awards, the State government has instituted 7 new awards which will be presented from this session onwards in memory of Bhupen Hazarika, Abdul Majid, Biju Phukan, Bijay Shankar, Indra Baniyaand Jayanta Hazarika. As a result, the State government will introduce ‘Best Assamese Children Film Award’ from this year. This year, government has also increased the prize money from minimum Rs 50,000 to maximum Rs 2,00,000. During the occasion, various awardees of the 64th and 65th National Film Award will also be felicitated. For this year, 40 feature films, 5 short films and 8 documentary films participated for awards while 7 critics have participated for the Assamese Film Critic Award.

Notably, Late Jayanta Hazarika Memorial Award will be conferred upon the distinguished music directors Jitu and Tapan this year while Pramathesh Baruah Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award will be conferred upon eminent singer Dipen Baruah (For 2015-16 session) and noted actor Mridula Barua (For the 2016-17 session).

Next Story