Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Leaked Document Reveals 14 MLAs & 4 MPs from Assam Have 'Criminal Record'

Leaked Document Reveals 14 MLAs & 4 MPs from Assam Have Criminal Record

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  14 Sep 2018 12:05 PM GMT

Guwahati: Following the Supreme Court direction to the Chief Secretaries of 25 states and six Union Territories, including Registrar Generals (RGs) of the High Courts, to furnish details of the criminal cases pending against the MPs and MLAs of the country, a list reportedly leaked from the chief secretary’s office in Assam reveals that at least 14 legislators out of 126 from Assam have criminal records which have surfaced in the media.

As per a media report, the apex court had sought a detailed report of the pending criminal cases against them.

The list supposedly “leaked” from the chief secretary’s office.

Out of the listed 14 MLAs -- 7 MLAs from BJP, 5 legislators from Congress, One AIUDF and one Independent MLA names were also listed in the order copy.

It may also be mentioned that Minister Naba Kumar Doley's name has also been listed in the list along with 14 legislators. MLA Thowra constituency of Sivasagar district Kushal Dowari, MLA of Sonai constituency in Cachar district Aminul Haque Laskar, MLA of Morigaon district Ramakanta Deori, MLA of Dudhnoi constituency in Goalpara district Dipak Kumar Rabha, MLA of Hojai Shiladitya Dev and Narayan Deka of Barkhetry constituency in Nalbari district.

From Congress, five leaders whose names were listed are Leader of Opposition, Debabrata Saikia from Nazira Constituency, Kamalakhya Dey Purkayastha for Karimganj North constituency, MLA Abul Kalam Rashid Alam for Goalpara east constituency, Jamaluddin Ahmed from Badarpur constituency in Karimganj district, Nurul Huda Rupohihat constituency in Nagaon.

Abhayapuri South, legislator Anant Kumar Malo and Independent legislator Bhuben Pegu for Jonai were also listed in the list.

Not only this, the AIUDF MP Maulana Badruddin Ajmal, Congress MP Susmita Dev, BJP MP Rajen Gohain, independent MP Naba Sarania names were also listed in the list.

It also asked whether the cases have been transferred to the special courts set up in pursuance to its December 2017 order to try them.

A bench of Justice Ranjan Gogoi, Justice Navin Sinha and Justice KM Joseph also sought information whether special courts set up in pursuance of its order were functional.

The bench also sought for the information by October 10, the next date of hearing.

Next Story