Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Lok Sabha Election: BJP Announces Campaign Schedule

Lok Sabha Election: BJP Announces Campaign Schedule

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  23 March 2019 12:25 AM GMT

GUWAHATI: With the canvassing of the 2019 Lok Sabha (LS) elections, every political party is fully geared up. The Prime Minister as well has ascertained the date of his arrival to address the election rallies in the state. The elections in Assam will be held in three phases. The 1st phase will be held on April 11 in Tezpur, Kaliabor, Jorhat, Dibrugarh, and Lakhimpur. The 2nd phase will be held on April 18 at Karimganj, Silchar, Mangaldoi, Diphu (Autonomous District) and Nagaon. The 3rd phase will be held on April 23 at Dhubri, Kokrajhar, Barpeta, and Guwahati.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has already announced the names of 8 candidates for the state on Thursday. The State BJP has informed that the star campaigners will hold a crucial position. The party’s alliances Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) will contest in 3 Lok Sabha constituencies of Kaliabor, Barpeta and Dhubri, while Bodoland People’s Front (BPF), will contest in Kokrajhar LS constituency.

The Prime Minister Narendra Modi will arrive on March 30 for the election campaigning and is scheduled to visit Gahpur under Tezpur LS constituency and Moran under Dibrugarh LS constituency.

A State BJP source informed the Sentinel, “The Prime Minister has been intimated about our proposal to attend six public rallies for the elections. Two rallies have been clinched for March 30. Moreover, six rally proposals were also sent to the party’s National President Amit Shah, for the locations Kaliabor, Golaghat, Nalbari, Hojai and Hajo. One location is yet to be finalized. Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, Textiles Minister Smriti Irani, Bollywood actor Akshay Kumar, among others also have a possibility of arriving in Assam.”


Next Story