Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

State mourns demise of GL Agarwalla

State mourns demise of GL Agarwalla

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  1 Feb 2019 2:53 AM GMT


GUWAHATI: Proprietor of GL Publications Limited and social worker, Ghisa Lal Agarwalla breathed his last on Thursday. After prolong illness, he passed away at 4.30 in the evening at his residence in Guwahati. He leaves behind a son and four daughters and a host of relatives. Agarwalla who was 79 was pre-deceased by his wife.

Born in September 19, 1940 at Barpeta Road, GL Agarwalla was the Managing Director of GL Publications. Along with Assam Xahitya Xabha, he was associated with a lot of social organizations. A host of Assamese books are credited to his name.

At the news of his demise, veteran journalists, well wishers, friends and various organizations flocked his residence to pay their homage. The last rites of GL Agarwalla will be observed at Bhootnath on Friday with complete state honours.

Assam Governor Prof Jagdish Mukhi condoles the death of the octagenarian and stated, “A hardworking and enterprising personality, he contributed immensely to the growth of media in the state.”

Chief Minister SarbanandaSonowal in his condolence statement said, “By establishing newspapers such as Amar Asom and Hindi daily Purbanchal Prahari, Agarwala contributed immensely to the journalism sector of the state.”

Media Advisor to the Chief Minister Hrishikesh Goswami also condoled the death of the eminent publicist. In his condolence message, Goswami said that his contributions to different fields of the society would be fondly remembered by the people of the state.

Industries and Commerce Minister Chandra Mohan Patowary, former Chief Ministers Tarun Gogoi and Prafulla Kumar Mahanta, AGP President Atul Bora, BJP President Ranjit Kumar Dass, APCC President Ripun Bora, AIUDF President Badaruddin Ajmal, leader of opposition Assam Legislative Assembly Debabrata Saikia, Speaker of Assam Legislative Assembly Hitendra Nath Goswami, Additional Chief Secretary Kumar Sanjay Krishna, OSD to Information and Publication Department Rajib Prakash Baruah, AGP Working President Keshav Mahanta, MP Bhubenaswar Kalita, AASU Advisor in Chief Sammujjal Bhattacharjyya, AASU President Dipankar Nath, AASU General Secretary Lurinjyoti Gogoi, Assam Xahitya Xabha, Assam Press Correspondents’ Union (APCU), Journalist Association of Assam (JAA), Guwahati Press Club, Dispur Press Club, Journalist Federation for Assam, Pratibandhi suraksha Sangstha Assam and various other organizations, deeply condoles the death of GL Agarwalla.

Also read: Guwahati city

Next Story