Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Students of Secondary Education bring laurels at IISF-2018 held in Lucknow

Students of Secondary Education bring laurels at IISF-2018 held in Lucknow

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  22 Oct 2018 5:00 PM GMT

Guwahati: Students of Secondary Education, Assam have brought laurels to the state in the recently concluded India International Science Festival (IISF-2018) organized by the Ministry of Science and Technology and Ministry of Earth Science in association with Vijnana Bharati at Indira Gandhi Pratisthan in Lucknow.

The India International Science Festival was organized from October 5 to 8, 2018.

The prime objective of the festival is to instill scientific temper among the masses and showcasing India’s contribution in the field of science and technology over the years.

Under the aegis of Department of Secondary Education, Assam, as many as 24 students along with 6 teachers from different districts of Assam participated in the North East Students Conclave (NESC) which was a sub-event of this program held on October 6 and 8, 2018 in Lucknow.

Earlier on October 5, in a get together program, the Directorate of Secondary Education, Assam, during a briefing about the whole program P Jidung, Director of Secondary Education, Assam encouraged the participants to perform well and said that this is a great initiative of the Government of India which will infuse a spirit of science education among the students of this region.

It may be mentioned that students also attended IISF expo, Science Film & Literature festival, visited various CSIR labs and interacted with eminent scientists as per IISF ‘Vigyan Bhraman’ and took part in ‘Face to Face’ with many scientists.

The two-day conclave was concluded with Northeast Cultural Festival by the student group among themselves. The program was attended by Minister for Road Transport and Highways Nitin Gadkari and Science and Technology Minister of India, Harsh Vardhan, and boosted the morale of the children of the NE region through one-to-one interaction.

List of winners at the Northeast Conclave are Jooman Kishor Lahkar (Vivekananda Bidya Niketan, Nalbari), Sushruta Borkotoky (Salt Brook School, Dibrugarh), Gunjan Nath (Resonance Science Secondary School, Sonitpur), Biswajit Sharma (Dhekiajuli High School, Sonitpur), Biki Singha (Sonaram HS School Kamrup), Ankur Gogoi (Dr. Radhakrishnan School of Arts Commerce and Science, Dibrugarh), Juman Das (Mitani Rewa Maheswar High School, Kamrup Metro), Ponkumoni Hazarika, (Ushapur High School, Duliajan), Rashmi Sonowal (Assam Vidyapith HS School, Dibrugarh), Koustov Moni Saikia (Kuralguri HS School, Golaghat).

Next Story