Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

We See No Reason to Back Congress, AIUDF: AGP

We See No Reason to Back Congress, AIUDF: AGP

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  17 Dec 2018 2:38 AM GMT

GUWAHATI: The State Election Commission (SEC) has not been able to give the final tally of panchayat poll results centrally even on the fifth day on Sunday. Even as the picture of zila parishad formation in the State is not clear, the AGP has dropped a broad hint of its alignment when it has said that it sees no reason to support the Congress or the AIUDF for the formation of zila parishads.

The SEC declared the results of 419 of the 420 zila parishads of the State. Of them, while the Asom Gana Parishad got 19 seats, the BJP got 212, the Congress got 147, the AIUDF got 25 and independent got 16 seats. The major chunks of the 2,192 gaon panchayat president seats for which results have been declared have gone to the BJP, the Congress, the AIUDF and the AGP. While the AGP got 137 seats, the BJP got 931 seats, the Congress got 757 seats and the AIUDF got 130 seats.

Of the 2,186 anchalik member seats declared so far, the AGP got 117 seats, the BJP got 1,020 seats, the Congress got 769 seats and the AIUDF got 136 seats.

Meanwhile, AGP’s West Guwahati MLA Ramendra Narayan Kalita told the media on Sunday that the regional party sees no reason to support the Congress and the AIUDF for the formation of zila parishads.

With the voters of Sivasagar and Nagaon giving fractured mandates the BJP, which leads the tally in both the districts, cannot form the zilaparishads there without support from the AGP even as the two coalition partners fought the rural poll on their own. In 13 ZP-member Sivasagar Zila Parishad, while the BJP got 6 seats, the AGP got 2 and the Congress got 5. In the 29-member Nagaon ZP, while the BJP got 12 seats, the AGP got 3, the Congress got 11 and the AIUDF got 3 seats. The situation is no different in Bongaigaon district where the AGP leads the tally but not in a position to form the zila parishad. It needs support from the BJP there. In the 12-member ZP in the district, while the AGP got 5, the BJP got 2, the Congress got 3 and the AIUDF got 2.


Next Story