Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

3 anti-tobacco squads formed in Kamrup(M)

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  12 Sep 2017 12:00 AM GMT

By our Staff Reporter

GUWAHATI, Sept 11: The Kamrup(M) district administration has formed three anti-tobacco squads by dividing the district in as many divisions – East Division, Central Division and West division.

While SDO Nibedan Das Patowary is the in-charge of East Division, SDO Rahul Das is the in-charge of central division and SDO Chinmoy Phukan is the in-charge of West Division. Each the of the three divisions will be assisted by a senior police official and a drug inspector. Deba Kumar Das, Biswajit Talukdar and Harendra th Sarma are the three drug inspectors assigned to each of the three teams respectively. The teams will act tough against people and firms violating the Cigarettes and Other Tobacco Product Act, 2003. Each of the squad will have to report to the DC on a daily basis.

Meanwhile, raids led by Chinmoy Phukan and Rahul Das in various areas in the city led to the seizure of a large quantity of tobacco, besides the arrest of six persons. The areas where raised were conducted on Monday were Athgaon and Kumarpara by the West team that arrested Amar Chourasia for illegal hoarding of tobacco. The team led by Rahul, on the other hand, raided in Chandmari, Bamunimaidam and Uluburari areas leading to the arrest of Rupam Dutta, Anukul Das, Abodesh Chourasia, Dharmaraj and another person for illegal hoarding and sale of tobacco. The teams had both drug inspectors and police officials with them in accordance with the directive issued by the deputy commissioner.

Next Story