Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

A feather each to B Chaliha and Abdul Majid's caps

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  2 May 2017 12:00 AM GMT

By our Staff Reporter

GUWAHATI, May 1: Prajrat educationist Bhabaprasad Chaliha and actor-director Abdul Majid are going to receive the Rekibuddin Ahmed Memorial Ward, 2017 and the Dara Fakir Saheb Memorial Award, 2017 respectively.

The All Asom Goriya Yuva-Chatra Parishad (AAGYCP) is giving away the Rekibuddin Ahmed Memorial Ward every year. The Dara Fakir Saheb Memorial Award is being presented for the third time this year.

Educationist Bhabaprasad Chaliha has been chosen for the award for his contribution in Sankari Sanskriti studies, survey of Sankari literature, Madhabdev’s literature, etc. He also translated and edited over 40 books in Assamese, English and Sanskrit. He has published around 300 essays in Assamese and English. Earlier, he had received the Prajrat award from Kamrup(M) District Xahitya Xabha. He also had the credit to have taken part in many tiol and intertiol-level conferences.

Actor Majid, on the other hand, brought laurels to the State by acting in over 38 films. He had the credit of receiving the best director award in the all India theatre competition. He also has the Promothes Baruah Lifetime Achievement Award to his credit. Assam Prag Cine also gave away the Lifetime Achievement Award to him.

The awards will be given away at the fourth anniversary of Jikir-Jari competition to be held at Kumarikata in Bagsa district on May 19 and 20.

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News