Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

All-women polling stations

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  31 March 2016 12:00 AM GMT

By our Staff Reporter

GUWAHATI, March 30: To make the election process more participatory by involving women in the poll-related activities, Kamrup Election District has adopted a new step by deputing women polling personnel in some selected polling stations in the ensuing Assembly election. As per this step, eight polling stations will be run only by women officials who will act as the presiding officer and other the polling officers’ and perform their bestowed duty. The women officials concerned were imparted requisite training on the duty and responsibility in Rajiv Gandhi Indoor Stadium, Amingaon on March 28 and 29 to ensure an error-free electioneering process. Participating in the training, general observer and DC & DEO Kamrup appreciated the lady officials for coming forward to participate as a responsible polling official in the electioneering process.

The all-women-run polling stations in the district will be 223 Boko MV School (right wing), 224 Boko MV School (left wing), 181 Chaygaon Majalia LP School (R/W), 182 Chaygaon Majalia LP School (L/W), 66 Bijaygar Marwari Girls Minor School (R/W), 144 Mirza Girls High School (R/W), 131 Chechamukh LP School (R/W) and 132 Chechamukh LP School (L/W).

Next Story