ASTEC to host Assam Science Festival in city

Lifetime Achievement Award posthumously to agro scientist Late Dhirendra th Borthakur


GUWAHATI, Feb 23: Former Vice Chancellor of the Assam Agricultural University and an eminent agro scientist of intertiol repute Dr Dhirendra th Borthakur has been selected for Lifetime Achievement Award (posthumously) while physicist and IIT-G professor Dr Debashish Borah has been chosen for Young Scientist Award. Environment organisation Aaranyak has been selected for Institutiol Award in the field of Science and Technology. 

State Science and Technology minister Keshab Mahanta said this in a press conference here today.

He said that the awardees for 2017 were selected on the basis of nomitions received from all across the State and the recommendations of the two committees constituted by the government. 

Instituted by the State Science and Technology department, the awards will be presented during Assam Science Festival to be held on February 27 and 28 at Sankardeva Kalakshetra here.

The Lifetime Achievement Award carries a cash prize of Rs 1.5 lakh while Young Scientist Award carries a cash prize of Rs 1 lakh.

Mahta said that as part of tiol Science Day celebration, the Assam Science Festival is being organised by Assam Science Technology & and Environment Council (ASTEC) in collaboration with Assam Energy Development Agency. 

He said that the focal theme of this year’s tiol Science is ‘Science and Technology for Specially-abled person’.

Chief Minister Sarbanda Sonowal would give away the award as chief guest while Himanta Biswa Sarma would attend as guest of honour. One of the major attractions of the festival will be the presence of eminent space scientist Ken Johnston from USA. He will grace the main function as of the tiol Science Day as distinguished guest. 

Top Headlines

No stories found.
Sentinel Assam