Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

BJP to form Tiwa Autonomous Council!

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  28 Aug 2015 12:00 AM GMT


GUWAHATI, Aug 27: Believe it or not, the Bharatiya Jata Party who won three seats in the Tiwa Autonomous Council is all set to form the next council. It may be mentioned that in the 30 member council, Congress have 15 seats, Tiwa Jatiya Aikya Mancha have 10 seats and the BJP and the AGP have three and two seats respectively.

Though the road was clear for the Congress to form the council, with Dr Himanta Biswa Sarma’s desertion of Congress to join the BJP, the whole scerio has changed dramatically. The BJP, who have always slammed the Congress for horse trading, has filly mastered the trick themselves, thanks to Dr Sarma who is all set to join the party tomorrow.

It has been learnt that three Congress Executive Members from Raha constituency is going to join the BJP taking the strength of the party to six.

These three EMs include Mohan Sepati, Mukut Konwar and Dipanjali Deori Konwar who are known to be loyal to Raha MLA Pijush Hazarika, who is a lieutent to Dr Himanta Biswa Sarma. These six EMs will then back the Tiwa Jatiya Aikya Mancha who has ten EMs to form the council. A close source has informed that the three Congress EMs and the ten EMs of TJAM are in Shillong along with top BJP leaders to filize the ‘deal’.

It has been learnt that all these 13 EMs of Congress and TJAM will join the BJP formally after forming the council.

The source also claimed that Dr Sarma is the mastermind behind this politics and it was he who filized everything sitting in Delhi.

Dr Sarma is joining the BJP tomorrow in Guwahati.

Next Story