Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

CM presents Dr. Bhupen Hazarika Award to Adoor Gopalakrishn

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  30 March 2015 12:00 AM GMT


Guwahati, March 29: Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi presented Bishwarat Dr. Bhupen Hazarika Intertiol Solidarity Award for the year 2015 to intertiolly acclaimed filmmaker Adoor Gopalakrishn at a function held at Rabindra Bhawan, Guwahati this evening. Adoor Gopalakrishn became the second recipient of this biennial award, the first being Smti Lub Marium of Bangladesh presented in the year 2013.

The award carries a citation, an aree chadar, memento and cash of Rs. 5 (five) lakh. Speaking on the occasion Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi termed late Bhupen Hazarika a great humanist and a revolutiory who wanted to bring in revolution in the society through his music. A cultural doyen, Bhupen Hazarika forged a synergy among all geographical territories in the country and brought about unity in the country, Gogoi said. He also added that there were lot of similarities between Dr. Bhupen Hazarika and Adoor Gopalakrishn and both them acted as bridge between Assam and Kerala, though both the states are geographically far off.

Sharing his feelings Adoor Gopalakrishn said that he was honoured being chosen for the coveted award. He said the world of music and cinema was credited to Dr. Bhupen Hazarika who contributed lot to their enrichment. He further said the rich legacy left behind by Dr. Bhupen Hazarika would continue to be source of strength and inspiration to present and future generations.

Assam Cultural Affairs Minister Bishmita Gogoi, President of Asam Sahitya Sabha, Dr. Dhrubajyoti Bora, ex-President of Asam Sahitya Sabha Padmashree Rongbong Terang, Maging Director NRL P. Padmabhan, and former judge of Supreme Court Dr. Mukundakam Sharma along with a host dignitary were present on the occasion.

Next Story