Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Dutta makes 'equitable' ethnic representation in APCC

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  16 May 2015 12:00 AM GMT

By our Staff Reporter

GUWAHATI, May 15: After long 68 years of independence of India, the Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) has realized the fact that its ethnic representation in Assam has not been equitable over the years, and as such it has corrected it in the new APCC team med by state president Anjan Dutta.

Talking newsmen in the city today, Dutta said that ‘his new team includes 17 general secretaries and 27 district Congress committee (DCC) presidents who will devote themselves only to strengthen the organization, without fighting any elections’.

According to Dutta said, the new APCC has 15 vice presidents, 17 general secretaries, 68 secretaries, 30 executive members and nine permanent invitees.

The 18 vice presidents are Abdul Hamid, Bhagirath Karan, Bidya Singh Engleng, Bishnu Prasad, Prati Phukan, Debabrata Saikia, Joon Joli Baruah, Manjushree Pathak, Praneswar Basumatary, Prithibi Majhi, Ranee rah, Ripun Bora, Santiuse Kujur, Siddeque Ahmed and Tanka Bahadur Rai. The 17 general secretaries, according to Dutta, are Anil Raja, Arun Saikia, Ankur Dutta, Bichitra Chowdhury, Dhiren th, Diganta Chaudhury, Mahmud Hussain Choudhury, Mi Teli, Mukul Sarma, Parimal Das, Pradyut Bhuyan, Raju Prasad Sarma, Ramesh Kumar Jain, Ri Pator, Sanjeev Sur and Sushmita Dev. The treasurer is Jai Kumar Jain.

According to Dutta, the APCC has reconstituted as many as eight DCCs, and they are of Darrang, Barpeta, Goalpara, Sivasagar, Guwahati city, Silchar and Tinsukia.

Dutta also said that this time around, the APCC has equitable representation from all ethnic groups, tribes and minority communities. According to him, over the years the ethnic representation in the APCC was not equitable, and that led the party to suffer setbacks in elections in the recent past.

So as to maintain, what Dutta said, equitable ethnic representation, the newly-formed APCC has ‘25 Hindu Assamese, five Hindi-speaking leaders, 18 Muslim minority leaders, two Jains, two Christians, two Hindu Bengalis, four scheduled caste leaders, four Gorkhas, 11 OBCs (Ahom), three Koch leaders, one Moran leader, two th Jogis, one Muttak leader, two Chutia leaders, six Tea Tribes and the representation of Sonowal Kacharis is still awaited. Four posts of secretaries are still vacant, and they will be filled soon.”

Next Story