Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Eight AASU-backed candidates win GU PGSU poll

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  13 Sep 2017 12:00 AM GMT

By our Staff Reporter

GUWAHATI, Sept 12: Eight AASU candidates came out winners in the Post Graduate Students’ Union, GU polls held on Monday. In the remaining seven seats, while one was elected unopposed, the other six seats were begged by the NSUI, SMSS and the ABVP.

Mash Pratim Duoarah and Monjit Sharma, both backed by the AASU, have been elected as the president and the general secretary of the post-Graduate students’ Union (PGSU). Deeepak Bora of the NSUI was elected as the vice president.

Altogether eight candidates were backed by the AASU, two candidates each by SMSS and the ABVP and three candidates by NSUI made it to the union body.

Other elected candidates are Anjita Paul as assistant general secretary (NSUI), Himakshi Borah (SMSS) literary secretary, Barasha Rani Baruah of AASU as music secretary, Bhaskarjyoti Sarma of SMSS as cultural secretary, Himamani Kalita of AASU as debate and symposia secretary, Ranjan Upadhyaya of ABVP as boys’ common room secretary, Sagarika Sarma of AASU as girls’ common room secretary, Masum Janid of AASU as gymsiun secretary, David Basumatary as sports secretary (NSUI), Ariful Islam as major games secretary (AASU) and Gaurang Boro as social service secretary (AASU).

Phanindra Basumatary of ABVP was elected uncontested. This time the total turnout was 63 per cent, which is more than the previous years’. The electorate has 3,009 votes, the number of votes cast was 2,400 of which 969 opted to NOTA.

Next Story