Gitiswami award for Late JM Singha

GUWAHATI, Nov 23: The run-up to the 120th birth anniversary of Altertive Media Magnet Gokulanda  Gitiswami has picked up pace with various programmes, including a multi-lingual poets’ meet organized by the Bishnuprirya Manipuri Writers’ Forum (BMWF), on November 20, 2016 at Guwahati Press Club. The birth anniversary of the social reformer, poet, bard, balladeer, a politician and what not falls on November 26 when Gitiswami Janma Jayanti Udjapan Committee, Guwahati will observe the day amidst daylong programmes, in collaboration with Gitiswami Kokulanda Trust, Guwahati at Shilpgram in the city. There will be yet another celebration on the birth anniversary of the balladeer on November 27 in the city by another organization.

On November 26, the programme to be presided over by Dr. Sushil Sinha of Gauhati University and to be attended by State Minister of Forest and Environment and WPT & BC Pramila Rani Brahma as the chief guest, the Gitiswami Janma Jayanti Udjapan Committee, Guwahati will confer the Gitiswami Award, 2016 on noted litterateur and social activist Late Jagat Mohan Singha posthumously. With the conferment of the award, a long-due justice with such an honour to the Bishnupriya Manipuri leader of yester century will be done. The programme will start at 8.30 in the morning.

Apart from the programmes of the day, Gitiswami Gokulanda Trust, Guwahati will extend fincial aid to as many as ten meritorious but poor students of the community for continuation of their higher study. The students selected for the aid are Bidisha Sinha of Christianbasti, Guwahati; Bani Sinha of Barbari, Guwahati; Raniita Sinha of Barbari, Guwahati; Priyam Sinha of Dakshingaon, Guwahati; Arpa Sinha of Barbari, Guwahati; Sibash Sinha of Purba Krishgar, Durlebcherra, Karimganj; Darthi Rajkumari of Khapara, Guwahati; Avish Sinha of lugaon, Patharkabdi; Birala Sinha of Bamunimaidam, Guwahati and Krishten Sinha of Kahilipara, Guwahati.

During the programme on November 20 last at Gauhati Press Club, the BMWF conferred the Gitiswai Award of Harmony on noted Assamese poet Meera Thakur and noted Hindi writer Prof. Hemraj Mi for their outstanding contributions in the field of literature and for generating fellow feelings amongst the poets and writers of different languages and literatures. The programme also saw the release of Sophocles’ ‘Antigone’, translated into Bishnupriya Manipuri by BMWF president Dils Lakshmindra Sinha, by Dr. Dayand Pathak.

The programme was attended by Assamese, Hindi, Bengali, Bishnupriya Manipuri, Mising, Deuri, Punjabi and Hajong poets.  

Top Headlines

No stories found.
Sentinel Assam