Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Governor presents Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  28 Nov 2017 12:00 AM GMT

GUWAHATI, Nov 27: Assam Governor Prof. Jagdish Mukhi presented the Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar- 2016 to 32 young artistes of the country who have made a mark in their respective fields of performing arts at a special award presentation ceremony at Srimanta Sankardeva Intertiol Auditorium on Monday.

Speaking on the occasion, the Governor expressed his pleasure to be a part of the prestigious and special ceremony. He also said that youth is a wondrous time when dreams are lofty and spirits are high, therefore efforts exerted in the right direction at this age will yield proper fruit, that is, success and recognition and all-round development.

The Governor also lauded great shehi maestro Ustad Bismillah Khan Saheb, as an extraordiire who single handedly brought the Shehi on the world stage. Even after receiving the Bharat Rat, India’s highest civilian honour and achieving intertiol fame he would reside in the city of Baras for he believed in ‘think global, act local’. The Governor congratulated the Sangeet tak Akademi for its tireless efforts in promoting the arts across the country. In the field of music, eight recipients of Yuva Puraskar included Yashaswi Sirpotdar and Koushik Aithal in Hindustani Vocal Music; Yashwant Vaishv in Hindustani Instrumental Music – Tabla; Abir Hossain in Hindustani Instrumental Music – Sarod; Srikrish Mohan and Ramkumar Mohan (Trichur Brothers) (Joint award) in Cartic Vocal Music; K Sai Giridhar in Cartic Instrumental Music – Mridangam; Ashwin And in Cartic Instrumental Music – Vee and B Shree Sunderkumar in Cartic Instrumental Music – Kanjira.

In the field of dance, eight recipients of Yuva Puraskar are Jyots Jaganthan in Bharattyam; Sanjukta Sinha in Kathak; Sanjenbam Karu Devi in Manipuri; Pasumarthi Mruthyumjaya in Kuchipudi; Shaswati Garai Ghosh in Odissi; Usharani Baishya in Xattriya; Kalamandalam Rachitha Ravi in Mohiniattam and Kalamandalam Krishnendu in Other Major Traditions of Dance & Dance Theatre (Kutiyattam).

In the field of theatre, eight recipients are Manish Joshi in Playwriting; Kedar Thakur and Mohit Takalkar in Direction; Neeraj Gupta and Vikrant Sharma in Acting; Soma Das in Mime; Gagan Mishra in Allied Theatre Arts – Lighting, and Jayachandra Varma Rekandar in Other Major Traditions of Surabhi Theatre.

In the field of Traditiol/Folk/Tribal Music/Dance/Theatre & Puppetry, eight recipients are Sonia Shirsat in Traditiol Music, Goa; Chainis Gill in Folk Music, Punjab; Gurumayum Biseshwor Sharma in Thang-ta (Manipur); Ch Ravi Kumar in Traditiol Theatre – Oggukatha, Telanga; P Thilagavathi in Traditiol Theatre, Kattaikooththu, Tamil du; Dushyant Kumar Dwivedi in Pandavani, Chhattisgarh; S Gopi and Rajeev Pulavar in Puppetry. Chairman of Sangeet tak Academy Shekhar Sen, commissioner of the State Cultural Affairs Department Pritam Saikia, renowned actor Pranjal Saikia along with a host of other dignitaries were also present at the award-presentation ceremony.

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News