Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Pension for 20 senior jourlists

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  14 Aug 2017 12:00 AM GMT

By our Staff Reporter

GUWAHATI, Aug 13: The State Government has declared pension to the twenty senior jourlists of the State for the first time under the Assam Pension Scheme for Jourlists, 2017 on Sunday.

The selected jourlists are – Benoy Bhusan Sen, Dhubri, Rama Sankar Rai, Kamrup (Metro), Prema Dhar Sarma, Kamrup (Metro), Garga Ram Barman, Kamrup (Metro), ren Hazarika, Kamrup (Metro), Probodh Ch. Bordoloi , Kamrup (Metro), Krish Ch. Kalita, Kamrup (Metro), Ratneswar Talukdar, Barpeta, Amal. Kumar Gupta, Kamrup (Metro), Dwipen Dutta, Golaghat, Udayan Biswas, Kamrup (Metro), Keshab Kalita, Kamrup (Metro), Devendra Kumar Pandey, Lakhimpur, Ajit Kumar Patowary, Kamrup (Metro), Goverdhan Prashad Atal, Jorhat, Nirupama Borah, Lakhimpur, Pramod Kumar Singh, Jorhat, Dharani Kalita, Kamrup (Metro), Bhakti Ram Roy, Kamrup (Metro) and Geetartha Pathak, Kamrup (Metro).

It is mentioble that the pensioners will receive a sum of Rs. 8,000 per month during their life time. The Pension Scheme will come into force immediately and will be effective from April 1, 2017. Under the scheme benefit of the pension will be extended to the widow or widower or minor children of the jourlist at the rate of 50 per cent of the pension amount after his or her demise. In case of physically challenged or mentally disabled children they will continue to get pension at the rate of 50 per cent till the time they do not get employment.

The Assam Pension Scheme for jourlists has covered those retired jourlists who have attained the age of sixty and domicile of the State of Assam and have served as a jourlist for a minimum of 20 years preceding his or her date of retirement.

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News