Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Rajbongshi new AXX president

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  30 Dec 2017 12:00 AM GMT

By our Staff Reporter

GUWAHATI, Dec 29: The Axam Xahitya Xabha (AXX) has elected former AXX secretary general Paramanda Rajbongshi as its president for the biennial term 2018-2020. While Hemanta Kumar Baruah has been elected as the vice president, Padum Rajkhowa has been elected as the secretary general. The results of AXX elections were declared at Barpeta Road on the night of Thursday. Rajbonghsi polled 390 votes against his nearest rival candidate Prahlad Tasha’s 174 votes. Hemanta Kumar Baruah defeated his nearest rival Numal Chandra Gogoi. Baruah polled 216 votes. Padum Rajkhowa, on the other hand, defeated Jadav Sarma with a slim margin of ten votes. Rajkhowa polled 161 votes against 151 by Sarma.

Rajbongshi thanked the people of Assam at a press meet in Guwahati on Friday for electing him as AXX president. “To lead the AXX from the front wasn’t what I wanted. I wanted an eligible litterateur to lead the Xabha. After counting of votes, I did consult with all who asked me to take the charge. I’ve taken the charge.” Meanwhile, former AXX executive member Bhabani Prasad Adhikary said: “The election of Rajbongshi as AXX president has tainted the Xabha.”

Next Story