Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Rajen Gohain stresses on comprehensive development of aspiratiol districts

Rajen Gohain stresses on comprehensive development of aspiratiol districts

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  23 Feb 2018 12:00 AM GMT

GUWAHATI, Feb 22 : Union Minister of State for Railways Rajen Gohain has requested all concerned district and State level functiories to do a detail resource mapping in the districts identified as backward and prepare achievable action plan. Reviewing the works undertaken for comprehensive development of the seven aspiratiol districts of Assam at the Assam Administrative Staff College, Guwahati on Thursday, the Minister put emphasis on the idea of NITI Aayog to develop the backward districts on a mission mode with a targeted approach. The Union Minister further informed that he would carry out review meeting on a bi-monthly basis to take stock of the work done in the last two months and the work proposed to be taken up in the coming days.

Taking part in the meeting, Assam Chief Secretary VK Pipersenia appealed the concerned Deputy Commissioners and State Prabhari Officers to put their best efforts to make the programme a success and to prepare action plan with a view to achieving the same by 2022. He also requested all concerned officials to identify gaps at village level and prepare action plan at village/micro level. The Chief Secretary further categorically appealed to all the senior officers of the State Government to give special emphasis on extending their support towards implementation of the activities in respect of the aspiratiol districts.

Significantly, the NITI Aayog has identified 115 backward districts of the country for convergence, integration and focused attention. Seven districts of Assam, mely Hailakandi, Dhubri, Barpeta, Darrang, Goalpara, Baksa and Udalguri are included among the identified districts. For focused development the Government of India has already appointed Central Prabhari Officers and the Government of Assam has also appointed one State Prabhari Officer for each identified district, a press release stated.

Next Story