Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

ASEAN Nations Pledge to Sign Mega Trade Deal in 2020

ASEAN Nations Pledge to Sign Mega Trade Deal in 2020

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  5 Nov 2019 6:45 PM GMT

Bangkok: The 10 member states of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) were ready to sign in 2020 a mega trade deal, which if executed, would create the world’s largest trading bloc, Thai Prime Minister Prayuth Chan-ocha announced on Monday.

The Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP), which has been primarily driven by China and would bring together almost a third of the global GDP, includes Australia, South Korea, Japan, India, New Zealand and the 10 ASEAN members Myanmar Brunei, Cambodia, Philippines, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam, reports Efe news.

In his opening remarks at a meeting between the regional bloc and China, South Korea and Japan within the framework of the ongoing ASEAN summit here, Prayuth announced that ASEAN members have concluded their negotiations and were ready to sign the treaty next year. The RCEP negotiations were formally initiated at the 2012 ASEAN summit in Cambodia. It covers a population of 3.4 billion people, 47 percent of the world’s population, and involves a GDP worth $22.6 trillion (32.2 percent of the world’s GDP). The agreement also brings together 29 percent of current world trade and 32.5 percent of global investment. (IANS)

Also Read: India, ASEAN for maintaining peace in South China Sea

Also Watch:CM Sonowal flagged off 15 electric buses under ASTC in Guwahati

Next Story