Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

British Prime Minister Boris Johnson suffers setback in Parliament

British Prime Minister Boris Johnson suffers setback in Parliament

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  20 Oct 2019 8:00 PM GMT

LONDON: British Prime Minister Boris Johnson on Saturday suffered a setback in Parliament after MPs voted for an amendment to defer a decision on his Brexit deal with the European Union.

The MPs voted through the Letwin amendment to delay Brexit until necessary UK legislation is passed, the BBC reported.

Johnson, who opened the debate soon after Parliament sat for discussion on his Brexit deal saying his deal with the EU can “heal the country”, had to deal with disappointment. The British Parliament sat for the first time in 37 years on Saturday to take up Johnson’s Brexit deal agreed with the EU. There were loud cheers at the People’s Vote rally in Parliament Square as the Letwin amendment was passed in the House of Commons.

The latest development implies that Parliament will not vote on Johnson’s deal until next week.

The division list for the Letwin amendment shows 231 Labour MPs voted for it alongside the 10 Democratic Unionist Party MPs. They were joined by 19 Liberal Democrats, 35 Scottish National Party members, 17 Independents, four Plaid Cymru, five Independent Group for Change and the Green Party MP Caroline Lucas.

On the other hand, 283 Conservative MPs voted against the Letwin amendment along with six Labour MPs.

The six Labour MPs who rebelled to oppose the Letwin amendment were — Kevin Barron (Rother Valley), Ronnie Campbell (Blyth Valley), Jim Fitzpatrick (Poplar and Limehouse), Caroline Flint (Don Valley), Kate Hoey (Vauxhall), and John Mann (Bassetlaw). (IANS)

Also Watch: BJP organized Gandhi Sankalpa Zatra in Dhemaji's Silapathar

Next Story