Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Nobel Prize 2023: Three Scientists Awarded Nobel Prize for Breakthrough in Ultrafast Electron Dynamics

Pierre Agostini, Ferenc Krausz, and Anne L'Huillier were honoured with Nobel Prize for pioneering attosecond pulse research on electron behaviour.

Nobel Prize 2023: Three Scientists Awarded Nobel Prize for Breakthrough in Ultrafast Electron Dynamics

Sentinel Digital Desk

STOCKHOLM: In a groundbreaking achievement, the Nobel Prize in Physics for this year has been granted to three exceptional scientists for their revolutionary work in examining the behavior of electrons within atoms at astonishingly brief intervals. The prestigious accolade has been bestowed upon Pierre Agostini from The Ohio State University in the United States, Ferenc Krausz from the Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics and Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich in Germany, and Anne L'Huillier from Lund University in Sweden.

The much-anticipated announcement was made by Hans Ellegren, the secretary-general of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, in Stockholm on Tuesday. The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences commended the laureates for their groundbreaking "experimental methods that generate attosecond pulses of light for the study of electron dynamics in matter." Their remarkable achievement entails the development of a technique to generate exceedingly brief bursts of light, known as attosecond pulses, capable of scrutinizing the rapid movements and energy transitions of electrons.

Notably, Anne L'Huillier's recognition as a Nobel laureate marks a significant milestone as she becomes only the fifth woman in history to receive the Nobel Prize in Physics. Overflowing with joy, L'Huillier shared her sentiments upon receiving this esteemed accolade, stating, "This is the most prestigious, and I am so happy to receive this prize. It's incredible. As you know, there are not so many women who have received this prize, so it's very special."

It is worth noting that the Nobel Prizes come with a substantial cash reward of 11 million Swedish kronor, equivalent to approximately $1 million. This monetary award is made possible through the endowment left by the prize's founder, the visionary Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel, who passed away in 1896.

This year's Nobel Prize in Physics has recognized the remarkable contributions of Pierre Agostini, Ferenc Krausz, and Anne L'Huillier, who have harnessed the power of attosecond pulses to delve into the intricate realm of electron dynamics within atoms. Anne L'Huillier's historic win as the fifth female Nobel laureate in physics adds a special dimension to this momentous achievement. The significant cash reward associated with the Nobel Prize serves as a testament to the enduring legacy of Alfred Nobel and his commitment to honoring outstanding contributions to science and humanity.

ALSO READ: Assam: Congress MP Gaurav Gogoi's Convoy Escapes Serious Accident in Silchar


Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News