Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Three Scientists Shared 2019 Nobel Prize in Physics

Three Scientists Shared 2019 Nobel Prize in Physics

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  9 Oct 2019 7:30 PM GMT

Stockholm: The 2019 Nobel Prize in Physics was shared by three scientists, the Royal Academy of Sciences in Stockholm announced on Tuesday.

The 2019 Nobel Prize in Physics has been awarded one half to James Peebles "for theoretical discoveries in physical cosmology" and the other half jointly to Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz "for the discovery of an exoplanet orbiting a solar-type star", Xinhua news agency reported.

Tuesday's announcement comes after it was revealed on Monday that three Americans scientists, William G. Kaelin and Gregg L. Semenza and Briton Peter J. Ratcliffe, were awarded the Nobel Prize in Medicine.

Monday's announcement kicked off this year's prestigious awards, which was followed by prizes in Physics on Tuesday and the ones for Chemistry, Literature, Peace, and Economics will also be named in the next few days.

This edition will see two prizes in Literature being announced as an exception, as last years were postponed owing to allegations of sexual abuse within the Swedish Academy.

The awards will be presented on December 10 (IANS)

Also Read: Chandrayaan-2 Mission: Meet Nidhi Sharma (Scientist at ISRO) from Assam’s Tinsukia

Also Watch:Swachh Bharat Abhiyan in Biswanath after Vijaya Dashami Celebrations

Next Story