Uttar Pradesh Assembly Passes Bill Against 'Love Jihad'

Earlier, UP CM Adityanath had declared his govt would come out with a law to deal with 'love jihad' & threaten those who don't respect their daughters & sisters.
Uttar Pradesh Assembly Passes Bill Against 'Love Jihad'

Lucknow: The Uttar Pradesh Prohibition of Unlawful Religious Conversion Bill, 2021 have been passed by the Legislative Assembly by voice vote on February 24.

Under the Unlawful Conversion bill, offenders can land in jail for up to five years.

Apart from the jail term, the ordinance also has the provision of a Rs 15,000 penalty for forceful religious conversion. For conversions of minors and women of the SC/ST community, there will be a penalty of Rs 25,000 penalty and a jail term.

Earlier in January 2021, the Supreme Court declined to stay the provisions of an Uttar Pradesh Ordinance and a Uttarakhand law, brought to checking unlawful religious conversions for inter-faith marriages.

A bench headed by Chief Justice S. A. Bobde agreed to examine the validity of legislation, 'The Uttar Pradesh Prohibition of Unlawful Conversion Of Religion Ordinance, 2020' and the 'Uttarakhand Freedom Of Religion Act, 2018', and issued notice to the two-state governments. The top court has sought a response within four weeks.

In Assam also state Finance, Health, Education and PWD Minister, Dr Himanta Biswa Sarma on Monday said that the government of Assam is considering to bring transparency in marriage laws, as it will make it mandatory for both bride and the groom to disclose information like their religion and the source of income. The decision came amidst the ongoing discussion on the issue of 'Love Jihad.'

The term 'Love Jihad' alleges that a Muslim man marries a non-muslim woman just to convert her religion into Islamism.

While in Madhya Pradesh, the government has earlier announced the passing of the 'Love Jihad' bill. The bill includes five-years of imprisonment for the 'violators' of Love Jihad.

It is to be mentioned here that several states, including Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, and Uttarakhand, already have in place "anti-conversion laws" that regulate religious conversion.

Also Watch: Assam News Wrap

Top Headlines

No stories found.
Sentinel Assam