Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

20 Years of 2001 Parliament Attack: 20 Years Ago How Terrorists Infiltrated India's Temple of Democracy

On the 20th anniversary of the Parliament Attack, the nation pays tribute to those martyrs killed in the terrorist attack on 13 December 2001.

20 Years of 2001 Parliament Attack: 20 Years Ago How Terrorists Infiltrated Indias Temple of Democracy

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  13 Dec 2021 10:49 AM GMT

On the 20th anniversary of the 2001 parliament attack i.e. on Monday 13 December 2021, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, President Ram Nath Kovind and others paid a heartfelt tribute to the military personnel who were killed in the terrorist attack on 13 December 2001.

Nine Indians including 8 security officers lost their lives in the parliament attack by terrorists from Pakistan-based outfits. The victims of the 2001 parliament attack included ward staff, two parliament guards, CRPF Constable Kamlesh Kumari and four Delhi police officers.

On the day of 13 December 2001, five terrorists invaded the House of Parliament called India's temple of democracy and started firing. The 5 terrorists were from two Pakistan-based outfits namely Jaish-e-Mohammad in short known as JeM and another Lashkar-e-Taiba known popularly as LeT.

The terrorists were highly armed with weapons such as grenades, grenade launchers, pistols, and AK47 rifles. The brutal attack that opened firing led to the death of nine people and the Ministers and MPs inside the parliament somehow saved their lives as the securities manages to keep them in safer locations.

All 5 terrorists got their entry into the premises of parliament with the help of their fake identity which was unable to recognize by the security deployed in the complex of parliament.

One of the Constables named Kamlesh Kumari from the CRPF (Central Reserve Police Force) was the first person to get aware of the fact that terrorists had captured the House of Parliament. After she saw the terrorist entering parliament she raised the alarm to let others know but as soon as she raised the alarm she was killed by one of the terrorists.

When others inside the parliament got informed they started closing all the gates during which the security guards of the Vice president were killed. Ministers and MPs inside the building of Parliament were taken into some safer places away from the attack of terrorists. Ministers and MPs present inside the parliament included George Fernandes and Lal Krishna Advani.

It was found that the main mastermind behind the 2001 parliament attack was Afzal Guru who was a Kashmiri separatist. He was sentenced to death in connection with the case of Jammu and Kashmir and then he died on 9 February 2013 at the age of 43 in Tihar Jail by hanging under strict security.

Also read: Govt to launch national helpline against atrocities on SCs/STs

Also watch:

Next Story