Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

8th Phase Of Bihar Panchayat Election Concludes, 3 More Phases To Go

The Bihar Municipal Election will be held in 11 phases in 2021. 8 phases have been completed to date with 3 more to go.

8th Phase Of Bihar Panchayat Election Concludes, 3 More Phases To Go

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  27 Nov 2021 11:32 AM GMT

Patna: The counting of votes for the eighth phase of the Bihar Municipal election began on November 26. The ninth phase will be held on November 29, the 10th on 8 December and the penultimate on 11th December.

The schedule for the 11-phased panchayat election was earlier postponed by the authorities due to the second wave of the coronavirus.

It was supposed to be held in June but it was later re-scheduled from September 20 to November 25.

A total of 92,376 candidates are contesting this election for 25,247 seats and it is held to fill up the different posts of Panchayats and Village Courts including the Sarpanch (head of the village).

In order to make the election as fair as possible and free of rigging, the Bihar State Election Commission has decided to hire Staqu, an Artificial Intelligence (AI) enabler to automate the counting of votes.

To directly count the votes from the camera by monitoring the EVM (Electronic Voting Machines) screens at the counting centre, Staqu has deployed JARVIS, Staqu's proprietary Video Analytics system powered by state of the art Artificial Intelligence (AI) technology.

The previous phases of the polls went smoothly according to reports and the voter turnout figures were also encouraging. Security had been beefed up and a total of 14,000 troops which included security personnel and election officials had been deployed on polling duty at 2,119 polling stations established in 1,609 centres.

Bihar has had a history of liquor and money playing a pivotal role in the Panchayat election but this time around it had decreased according to Ankit Sharma of Jehanabad district where voter turnout was 56.69%.

12,065 illegal liquor manufacturing units were destroyed in different districts while 5,46,143 litres of illicit liquor were seized. Besides, 362 illegal arms and 1,606 cartridges too were found.

Let us have a glance at the list of victors till now :

Neha Devi emerged victorious of the Kaliaganj Panchayat.

Mehjabi Khatoon wins from Pipra Bijwar.

Shambhu Singh prevails from the Parsawan Panchayat of Pandarak block of Bepatna.

Abdul Sattar was elected from Badgaon Panchayat of Bandra block of Muzaffarpur.

Shobha Devi scores a win in Pandarak block.

Reema Devi registers victory from Dhivar Panchayat of Pandarak block of Patna.

Indu Devi triumphed from Bhojpur

Mamta Kumari was elected from Banarpur Panchayat in Buxar.

Samad Ali Mukhiya elected from Dighali Panchayat.

Pankaj Kumar registers victory from Hirota Dumma Panchayat of Tariyani block, Sheohar.

Neeraj Kumar wins from Madhopur Chhata, Sheohar.

Asha Devi retains Jamui's Bela Panchayat.

In Arunmabank Panchayat of Jamui, Phoolmanti Devi has registered victory by defeating Putul Devi with a margin of 917 votes.

Sabana Khatoon wins Garhi Panchayat, Jamui.

Shambhu Manjhi has been elected from Jeet Jhingoi and Niranjan Tanti's wife Usha Devi has been elected from Kendih.

Geeta Devi wins Jhitkahiya panchayat, East Champaran, while Ramesh Kumar Yadav registers victory from Naurangiya.

Bechan Sharma elected Mukhiya from Mahuar Panchayat of Ramgarh block, Kaimur.

In Muzaffarpur, Vibha Devi wins from Baghakhal Panchayat of Gaighat block.

Also read: RJD Leader Lalu Prasad Yadav Hospitalised in AIIMS Emergency Unit

Also watch:

Next Story