Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Ashok Gehlot, Sachin Pilot takes oath and forms new government in Rajasthan

Ashok Gehlot, Sachin Pilot takes oath and forms new government in Rajasthan

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  17 Dec 2018 8:18 AM GMT

Guwahati: Rajasthan witnesses the oath-taking ceremony of its new government on Monday when the newly appointed Chief Minister of the state, Veteran Congress leader Ashok Gehlot takes the oath. With this swearing-in of Gehlot, he becomes Rajasthan CM for the third term in his life as before this as well, Gehlot had played this role position from December 1998 to 2003 and from 2008 to 2013 and again from 17 December 2018.

While Ashok Gehlot took oath as the chief minister, another strong contender from the same party that did extraordinarily well in the Rajasthan elections, Sachin Pilot took his new responsibilities as the deputy chief minister. The distribution of power among the two Congress leaders, after their massive win in the elections, has been made by Congress president Rahul Gandhi.

The duo took the oath at the historic Albert Hall in state capital Jaipur. The swearing-in ceremony was administered by Governor Kalyan Singh. The ceremony was also attended by the Congress President Rahul Gandhi. Not only that, a number of opposition leaders were also present at the ceremony and this certainly is a show of unity ahead of the general election next year.

Among the opposition leaders present in the oath-taking ceremony are Andhra Pradesh chief minister N Chandrababu Naidu, his Karnataka counterpart HD Kumaraswamy, Nationalist Congress Party president Sharad Pawar, All India Trinamool Congress leader Dinesh Trivedi, Janata Dal (Secular) president HD Deve Gowda, National Conference president Farooq Abdullah, Loktantrik Janta Dal chief Sharad Yadav, Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam president MK Stalin and leader Kanimozhi and so on.

However, other noted political leaders like Trinamool Congress chief Mamata Banerjee, Samajwadi Party’s Akhilesh Yadav and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) president Mayawati could not attend the ceremony.

However, the announcement of the CM candidate for Rajasthan delayed due to the conflicts and confusions between the two CM Candidates Ashok Gehlot and Sachin Pilot. The supporters of Pilot, 41 had created a protest to the candidacy of Gehlot.

At a time when Pilot is a new face and young blood to become the Rajasthan CM, Gehlot, on the other hand, is much experienced and veteran for which Gehlot won Gandhi’s confidence. Gehlot has been a Member of Parliament five times from Jodhpur and Pilot have previous experiences of representing Dausa and Ajmer in the Lok Sabha in 2004 and 2009, respectively. It was Pilot’s first time in the assembly election this year and he passed out with flying colours.

Also read: Ashok Gehlot to be the new CM and Sachin Pilot his Deputy in Rajasthan

Next Story