Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

BJP’s Dushyant Gautam takes oath as Rajya Sabha MP

BJP’s Dushyant Gautam takes oath as Rajya Sabha MP

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  24 March 2020 8:48 AM GMT

BJP leader Dushyant Kumar Gautam took oath as Rajya Sabha member from Haryana on Monday. Gautam had filed nomination for bypoll to fill up a casual vacancy whose term is ending on August 1, 2022. The casual vacancy had arisen following the resignation of former Union minister Birender Singh. In total, there are five Rajya Sabha seats in Haryana. Three seats fell vacant. Notably, the two Rajya Sabha vacancies are due to resignation of BJP’s Ram Kumar Kashyap and the expiry of Congress leader Kumari Selja’s term on April 9. A third vacancy which has necessitated a bypoll rose following the resignation of former Union Minister and BJP leader Birender Singh. Dushyant along with another BJP leader Ram Chandra Jangra and Congress candidate Deepender Hooda were elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha from Haryana on March 18. The trio was declared elected without a ballot being cast. Their unanimous election to the Upper House was a foregone conclusion in view of the prevailing strength of MLAs of the ruling BJP (40) and opposition Congress (31) in the assembly. (IANS)

Also Read: Manohar Lal Khattar to take oath as Haryana CM, Dushyant his deputy

Also Watch: Coronavirus update: Buddhist Monastery in Naharkatika take extra prevention measures

Next Story