Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Kathir Anand of DMK Wins Vellore Lok Sabha Seat

Kathir Anand of DMK Wins Vellore Lok Sabha Seat

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  11 Aug 2019 12:45 PM GMT

Chennai: The DMK on Friday won the Vellore Lok Sabha seat with its candidate D.M. Kathir Anand defeating his AIADMK rival. According to the Election Commission, Kathir Anand had polled about 4.85 lakh votes as against AIADMK’s candidate A.C. Shanmugam who had polled about 4.77 lakh votes. With this victory, the DMK has now increased its number of members in Lok Sabha to 24, while the party-led front has gathered 38 of the state’s total 39 seats.

In a statement issued here, DMK President M.K.Stalin said the DMK is now the third largest party in the Lok Sabha. Saying ‘victory could be delayed but not denied’, he thanked the Vellore voters. Counting of votes for the Vellore seat began on Friday morning. The poll was held on August 5. (IANS)

Also Read: DMK stages walkout in Lok Sabha over NEET

Also Watch: Symposium on “Draft National Education Policy 2019 & New India” organized at IIT Guwahati

Next Story