Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

MP Ripun Bora Among 12 Opposition Members Suspended from Rajya Sabha

Ripun Bora, a member of the Assam Congress in the Rajya Sabha, was one of the 12 opposition members suspended from the Upper House on Monday.

MP Ripun Bora Among 12 Opposition Members Suspended from Rajya Sabha

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  29 Nov 2021 12:25 PM GMT

Ripun Bora and 11 other Rajya Sabha members have been suspended from the Upper House for "creating a ruckus" during the agriculture bill repeal bill's passage.

In reaction to his ban, Ripun Bora stated, "Yes, we had objected at the last session." We had demonstrated in favour of farmers and the poor, and as lawmakers, it is our job to raise the voices of the oppressed and impoverished. If we don't raise our voices in Parliament, where will we do so?" A member of the Assam Legislative Assembly, Ripun Bora, remarked.

Bora further called the resolution "undemocratic and unjust" since it "does not enable" a discussion on the agriculture bill repeal measure. "This is anti-democratic; it is a coup against democracy and the Constitution." This is a sexist, biassed, and one-sided decision. "Opposition parties were not consulted," Assam Congress member Ripun Bora alleged. On Tuesday, opposition leaders held a meeting in Rajya Sabha MP Mallikarjun Kharge's office to address the expulsion of 12 Rajya Sabha members.

On the first day of the Winter Session, the Rajya Sabha discharged 12 members for the duration of the debate, including Shiv Sena MP Priyanka Chaturvedi and TMC MP Dola Sen.

The unjustifiable and unlawful suspension of 12 MPs has been widely condemned by opposition leaders. Tomorrow, the Rajya Sabha floor leaders will gather to consider the next actions in opposing the government's authoritarian decisions and safeguarding parliamentary democracy: Proclamation of the United Nations.

CPM MP Elamaram Kareem, Congress MPs Phulo Devi Netam, Chhaya Verma, Ripun Bora, Rajamani Patel, Syed Nasir Hussain, Akhilesh Prasad Singh, CPI MP Binoy Viswam, TMC MP Shanta Chhetri, and Shiv Sena MP Anil Desai are among those who attended. According to opposition party leaders, the suspension of 12 MPs was "unjustified and undemocratic."

Also Read: Assam CM Kicks Off Work On Majuli-Jorhat Bridge, To Be Completed By November 2025

Also Watch:

Next Story