Passenger Trains in India from May 12: What You Need to Know

Passenger Trains in India from May 12: What You Need to Know

New Delhi:

The Government of India has intimated that the Indian Railways will once again start operating passenger trains from May 12 onwards. Trains to 15 Indian Cities will be launched on the 12th and train services will soon start operating across the country, said a communique issued by the Ministry of Railways.

The Railways will start operaing 15 pairs of trains on return journey basis from the New Delhi Railway Station in the national capital. Trains will operate between Delhi and Mumbai, Howrah (Kolkata), Chennai, Patna, Ranchi, Dibrugarh, Agartala, Bilaspur, Bhubaneswar, Secunderabad, Visakhapatnam, Thiruvananthapuram, Madgaon (Goa), Ahmedabad and Jammu-Tawi. It is noteworthy to mention here that the trains are in addition to the "Shramik Special" trains being operated to ferry stranded migrant labour.

All passenger trains will be run with AC coaches only and with limited stoppages. The fare will be equivalent to the ticket fare that is charged for Rajdhani trains, the ministry added.

Further details, including train schedule, will be issued separately in due course, said the statement from the Railways.

How to Get Tickets:

Tickets for these special passenger trains will only be available on the Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation (IRCTC) website from May 11, 4 pm onwards.

No offline tickets will be available at the counter.

Passengers will be allowed to enter the station only if they hold a valid ticket and they will also have to wear a proper face cover, such as a mask.

They will undergo a check-up at the station and only those who clear the test will be allowed on the train, the Railways said.

Top Headlines

No stories found.
Sentinel Assam