Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Record 72.13% voting in Karnataka

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  14 May 2018 12:00 AM GMT

Bengaluru, May 13: A record 72.13 per cent of the over 5.06 crore electorate voted during the Karnataka assembly elections, the state Chief Electoral Officer said on Sunday. “The final voter turnout is 72.13 per cent in 222 constituencies, including 36 reserved for Scheduled Castes and 15 for Scheduled Tribes,” said CEO Sanjiv Kumar in a statement, a day after the polling on Saturday. “The highest voting percentage of 89.97 was recorded in Hosakote in Bengaluru Rural district, with the lowest 48.03 per cent in Dasarahalli in Bengaluru Urban.” High voting percentage was also reported from Srinivaspur in Kolar district (88.40), Chikaballapur (87.86), Gundlupet in Chamarajnagar (87.50), Aakul in Hassan (87.32). Four segments with low voting percentage were C.V. Raman Nagar in Bengaluru (48.98), BTM Layout in Bengaluru South (50.09), Sarvagnagar in Bengaluru North (51.19) and Bommanahalli in Bengaluru South (52).

In Chamundeshwari seat in Mysuru and Badami seat in Bagalkot district which Chief Minister Siddaramaiah contested, 76.05 per cent and 74.65 per cent votes were polled respectively. In Varuna in Mysuru district, where Siddaramaiah’s son Yetindra was in the fray, 78.59 per cent votes were polled. (IANS)

Next Story