Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Speaker accepts YSR Congress MPs’ resignations

Speaker accepts YSR Congress MPs’ resignations

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  21 Jun 2018 11:30 PM GMT

New Delhi/Vijayawda, June 21: Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan on Thursday accepted resignations of five Lok Sabha MPs of the YSR Congress party. The MPs had submitted their resignations on April 6 — the last day of budget session — to protest against the refusal of the Central government to accord Special Category Status to Andhra Pradesh. According to a bulletin from Lok Sabha, the speaker has accepted the resignations of the MPs with effect from June 20.

The speaker’s move came two weeks after YSR Congress Parliamentary Party leader Mekapati Rajamohan Reddy and others met her to convey that they stand by their resignations and urged her to accept the same immediately. The other MPs are Y.V. Subba Reddy, Vara Prasadarao Velagapalli, Midhun Reddy and Y.S. Avinash Reddy. As the Speaker on May 29 had requested the MPs to reconsider their resignations, they met her in the national capital on June 6 to submit fresh letters, urging her to accept their resignations. (IANS)

Next Story