Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

10 out of 11 ZPMs join BJP in Changlang

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  22 Feb 2017 12:00 AM GMT

From Our Correspondent

Itagar, Feb 21: Ten out of the 11 Zilla Parishad Members of Changlang district have joined the Bharatiya Jata Party after a meeting held on February 17 under the leadership of incumbent Changlang Zilla Parishad Chairperson, Jowkhong Singpho.

The members include seven of People’s Party of Aruchal (PPA), one Independent and two of Congress. This is the second time that eight ZPMs, excluding the two Congress members have joined the ruling party under the leadership of Singpho -first by defecting from the Congress party to PPA, and now from PPA to the BJP. The lone independent member was extending support to the PPA party as an associate member, while it is the first time for the two Congress members leaving former ZPC Mari Kenglang alone in the Congress camp.

The members who merged from the PPA are Jowkhong Singpho, Yaofu Yobin, Korong Longri, Tongko Singpho, Pintri Singpho, Renu Salng Mungrey and Ramwin Morang. Those from the Congress are Rumikam Tikhak and Tusam Longri, while Lungkham Longtu is the lone Independent member.

Singpho said that the government under the leadership of Chief Minister Pema Khandu and state party chief Tapir Gao was calling for promoting ‘Team Aruchal’ to take the state towards a new phase of development so it was the right time to join hands together.

At Tuting, over 200 Panchayat leaders and members, including Zilla Parishad Members (ZPMs), Anchal Samity Members (ASMs) and Gram Panchayat Members (GPMs) of Upper Siang district merged into the BJP in presence of former state BJP President Tai Tagak and Minister for Rural Development & Panchayati Raj Alo Libang at a function on February 14, organized by the Bharatiya Jata Party 34-Tuting Yingkiong Mandal unit.

Next Story