Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

1,058 students receive degrees, diplomas at TU convocation

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  23 Dec 2017 12:00 AM GMT

From a Correspondent

Tezpur, Dec 22: Addressing the XV convocation of Tezpur University (TU) on Thursday as chief guest, Prof. Anil Kakodkar, former Director of BARC, former chairman, Atomic Energy Commission and secretary to the Government of India, Department of Atomic Energy, said that Tezpur University had made a mark in a brief period of around 25 years and is ranked high in the tiol Institutiol Ranking Framework.

Referring to the Global Trends 2030: Altertive Worlds, a recent report of United States, he said that the period between the year 2015 and 2050 was identified as demographic window of opportunity for India. To this end, the universities being the seats of knowledge had far greater responsibilities towards leading the society in right path. Kakodkar urged the graduates to play the desired role in leading the society.

Chancellor of the university and Assam Governor Jagdish Mukhi presided over the convocation ceremony. While conferring the degrees and diplomas to the students, he observed that students of the university were regularly getting placement in reputed institutions and organizations of the country and abroad as well. He also mentioned that Tezpur University was a product of the Assam Accord which aspired to generate knowledge and manpower for the tion building process, and the university had been successfully trying to deliver the mandate.

Among 1,058 degree and diploma recipients, 64 were Ph.D degrees, 679 Masters, 248 B.Tech/B.Sc/BAs, 45 PG Diplomas, and 22 were degree and diploma under the Open and Distance Learning Programmes.

Prof. Madan M. Sarma, the Vice-Chancellor (Acting) of the university, highlighted the overall achievements that the university had earned through research and other outreach activities. He focused on the quality research output which the students and the teachers of the University had been striving for. Prof. Dhruba Jyoti Saikia, former Vice-Chancellor of Cotton University (then CCSU), and Gita Upadhyay, Sahitya Akademi awardee were also present.

Next Story