Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

1,09,616 voters to exercise their franchise in Amguri LAC today

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  4 April 2016 12:00 AM GMT

GAURISAGAR, April 3 : A total of 1,09,616 voters (male 55,720 and female 53,896) in No 103 Amguri LAC will exercise their franchise in the first phase of poll to be held on Monday. In the election, all total eight candidates are in fray. Among them are Angkita Dutta (INC), Prodip Hazarika (AGP-BJP alliance), Raj Kumar Duarah (All India Forward Block ), Gayatri Borauh Kalita (AIUDF) and Jardan Hazarika, Dulal Baruah, Anuwar Hussain and Dilram Karmakar as Independent candidates. The last political scerio indicates that the main tussle will be between Prodip Hazarika and Angkita Dutta. Amguri is one of the high-profile assembly constituencies in the State. The history of Amguri LAC says that no political leader ever won the seat for two consecutive times. Even former Chief Minister Bimala Prasad Chaliha was defeated in this constituency.

Next Story