Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

117 candidates to contest in Goalpara Municipal Board election

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  4 Feb 2015 12:00 AM GMT

From a Correspondent

Goalpara, February 3: Following the guidelines of Assam State Election Commission, the Goalpara district administration has made all the necessary arrangements for free and fair election to the Goalpara Municipal Board (GMB) and Lakhipur Town Committee (LTC).

Addressing a press conference in Goalpara on Tuesday, Deputy Commissioner (DC) JVN Subramanyam said that 320 polling officers had been deputed for the 56 polling stations for both the places. Ajit rayan Hazarika, ADC, for GMB and Firdaus Alom Sheikh, Circle Officer, for LTC had been appointed as the magistrates for the election.

There are 36,428 voters who will exercise their franchise in the 19 wards for GMB and 8,955 voters for the four wards of LTC. A total of 117 candidates in GMB and 18 candidates in LTC are in fray for the election. Meanwhile, the DC has asked the candidates to strictly follow the model code of conduct. “No violation of model code of conduct by any candidate will be tolerated,” warned Subramanyam.

Next Story